Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2008 1:45 p.m.

it's safe to say that today mattered

I got to meet the woman who is getting my eggs today. I wasn't expecting to, and I'm actually crying as I write this right now. It could be the insane amount of hormones I've pumped into my body the past couple weeks, or it could be the card I just read from her.

But this whole thing became real today.

Today was the retrieval. I was both nervous and excited this morning, knowing I would be going under anesthesia, not knowing how my body would react afterwards, hoping that I got a good number of eggs and that a couple I never met would get pregnant from it.

I wasn't expecting to meet her though. I was in the prep room, dressed in my hospital gown, waiting for the nurse and the anesthesiologist. The nurse came in with a small bag, containing pain medication for later and a small potted plant and two envelopes from the intended couple. She held up one of the envelopes, "This has a picture of the couple, they dropped it off in case you wanted to see what they looked like, but if not, that's ok."

I knew this donation had been intended to be anonymous, and I was touched that the couple had even wanted me to see who they were.

When I told the nurse I was indeed interested in seeing who they were, she said that the wife was actually still there, if I wanted to meet her. I was shocked. The recipient couples usually don't want to meet the donors; it's easier on them if things don't work out. I told her I did, but only if she was comfortable with it.

As I sat in the room, in nothing but a hospital gown and robe, no makeup, my hair back in a cap, I wondered if she'd come. If she'd want to meet me. If I'd be acceptable to her, now that it was too late to turn back. I knew they had seen pictures and knew my medical history, but would she be disappointed seeing me in person?

The nurse brought her back into my room. I gave her a hug, not knowing if that was awkward, or expected, or what. It's not like there is a standard behavior expectation in a situation like that. I kept looking at her as we chatted, mentally noting our similar features, trying to make myself understand that this was the lady I was enabling to become a mother, that this is who I had been sticking myself with needles for. I don't think it ever really sunk in until now, hours later.

Neither of us knew what to say; I think we both understood the importance of the moment. We'd forever be a part of each other's lives, bound together in this one way, yet this moment was all we knew we'd ever get. She thanked me many times; I tried to convey the honor I felt that she had chosen me for this.

It was only a few moments before the anesthesiologist came in, had me sign some forms and whisked me away. I said goodbye, still not believing what had really just unfolded.

The procedure was simple, or I'm assuming it must have been. I was out for it. I woke up about 20 minutes later to K in the the recovery room. I drank some gatorade, I joked with the nurses about which conversations I remembered just before I went to sleep. I changed into my normal clothes, I left in a procedural wheelchair.

I'm lying on the couch at home now, a heating pad on my stomach, a nausea pill in my bloodstream, since I couldn't get up off the bathroom floor when I first got home. They told me they got around 50 eggs, but they don't know yet how many were mature. 50 is a ridiculously high number, by the way. Almost scary high. And to think that my first donation was canceled because my levels were too high and they didn't think I would respond well to the medications...

It only really matters how many mature eggs there were though, I'm hoping at least 20-30. I hope they were good eggs too. Good quality. I hope they make lots of good embryos. I hope they become pregnant.

Because now that I'm home, and looking at these flowers, and re-reading this card she wrote me, and now that I know that she is a real live person - I really, really, really, hope this means a child for them.

I'm so glad I got to do this.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.