Wednesday, Mar. 26, 2003 5:10 a.m.

college: best years of my life?

I�ve been told many times that college is the best years of your life...I was told that before I came and I�m still being told that...but I seriously hope that it�s not true, because I�m not always having the greatest time here.

The �real world� sucks? well, perhaps. I mean, you then have to work full time (if you count 40 hrs/week as �full� time) and support yourself. You have to pay for your own food, transportation, bills, insurance, etc. You don�t have a Spring Break; you can�t take random road trips. You have to deal with the politics of business. but is this so bad? I think what I�m handling now is worse:

I pay my own rent. I buy my own food. About the only thing I don�t take care of is my insurance. I have two part-time jobs (one is a graveyard shift during the week, the other consumes the majority of my weekends. total hrs/week: around 30-35). I�m taking a 19 hour class load, I�m involved in student government, I�m active in my social club (sorority), I volunteer with Big Brothers/Big Sisters and Girl Scouts. I help plan my roommates� bridal showers, I stay out late on weekends (after work, of course) so as to still have a social life. I don�t have weekends off for road trips; I work at least 20 hrs each weekend. I try to email people and I try to find a job for after I graduate. I try to study. I try to finish projects. I try to get my laundry done occasionally. And I try to get a decent amount of sleep. It�s a crazy life and at times, I just feel like I�m trying to survive each day�s to-do list.

What I would give to work my ass off from 9-5, only 8 hrs. a day!, and have the rest of the evening to do as I pleased!!! I could read books, I could watch TV, I could spend the time making a real dinner and not just a bowl of cereal! Plus, I would be getting PAID for the things I�d be doing...I cannot imagine that! Currently, I live 24 hr. days. I don�t ever stop, I don�t ever have down time. When I�m not in class or at work, I�m doing something for one of my classes or another extracurricular activity. I even have to schedule sleep...it sucks.

I LOVE college for the opportunities it presents...I love being a student and having access to facilities and knowledge. I love the craziness, as much as I hate it. But the longer I�m here (and I�m almost gone), I�m realizing that the education one receives from attending college has very, very little to do with academics. It has to do with life, learning to handle it all, learning to become your own person, learning to deal with others, learning the unfortunate truth that life is neither necessarily fair, nor necessarily fun. It all depends on how you choose to life it.

This school frustrates me so much sometimes! It�s as though this school only knows how to breed small dreams. �We�ll teach you how to become anything you want, as long as it involves working in and solely around a Church of Christ related occupation�. That�s what the school�s motto should be...�cause that�s what it practically is as it is... But I have larger dreams! and I feel as though this school has not helped me in any way. sometimes I feel that anything that I�ve learned here is only because I taught myself how to do it. What was the point of me going to college anyways? I could have four years of �real world � experience under my belt by now...have these four years been only a waste?

I don�t want to be bitter. I don�t want to hate college, nor this school. I want to take advantage of all that I can while I�m here. But I can�t help but feel that there has got to be more to life than this. The �real world� has got to be better, or at least more stable. Am I counting down the days? Yes! (36 days of class!) Am I going to celebrate and get drunk at the graduation parties? Probably. Am I going to look back on these college days and miss them? That I cannot say...

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.