Friday, Oct. 19, 2012 11:14 a.m.

6 weeks w/o a paycheck

Blah. K is going on 6 weeks without a paycheck. It's not like he was laid off or fired or can claim unemployment. No, he's "supposed" to eventually be paid for those weeks, but at this point, hope has kind of faded. I suppose there's still the possibility, and it could happen (and it is "supposed" to), but we need the money NOW, not in the future, so that promise doesn't really do anything for us for the time being.

How do we go from being at a good, steady, comfortable place with money - to feeling poor and worried about being able to pay our bills? Our income has almost been cut in half. I had to change all our credit cards (that we were on a really good plan to pay off in the next several months) to bare bones minimum payments. Which means the interest is going to build up and make it all even harder to pay off. Blah.

I've never seen K like this. Depressed and dejected. He feels like a failure and I do everything within my power as a wife to remind him how much he is loved, how amazing of a father he is, how thankful I am to have him as my husband. I remind him that he DOES have a job (even if he's not getting paid for it...) and at least has the promise of getting a large backpayment sum eventually. There is hope. He's not hopeless. We're not hopeless.

This past year, he has had MANY writing projects go out, has done many meetings, have been considered a potential hire as a write on several shows. He has yet to get any of them and he has yet to have any of his projects be picked up. I remind him how cool it is that he had a show idea to to CW, and that now other networks are looking at it, but it's hard for him to see this. He just wants results. It doesn't matter how many people have read his stuff; if no one want wants to pay him for it, what good does being red do him?

I understand his point and I understand his discouragement. He works so hard. He tries so hard. He does so well. But this is a cruel, cruel industry. He's 10 years in and feels like he should be so much more successful by now. He wants to be the best husband and father possible and provide for his family and he feels as though he is not doing that.

--------------------
We've been talking about having another kid. Ok, we WANT to have another kid. I never went on back on birth control after C. At first we were just letting nature take it's course, but for the past 2 months, we've actually be desirous of getting pregnant. Another negative test today. I know I shouldn't be bummed. That was my whole goal this time around - to not take is seriously and let myself get upset. I have C and I love C and I'm eternally grateful for C. If it happens again, it will happen when it's meant to happen.

But now that C is a year old and I know that people know it's about time to start thinking about another - it does stress me out. I read blogs of other old college friends who had a baby around C's age and I'm waiting for them to announce a new pregnancy - so I'm sure they are waiting for the same from me. And it sucks. I just wanted it to happen magically this time around. Without trying or thinking about it.

It's been 6 months since I got my period back - and I'm starting to both try and think about it.

AND - all of this makes no sense since we're struggling financially right now too! But I hope, I hope, that this is just temporary and that if we did get pregnant that finances would sort themselves out before they needed to be.

But I'm not going to lie: while getting a positive today would've been scary and I think I would've been worried to stress K out even more right now with added responsibility - it also would've been something to cheer him, and myself up - at least in the fertility dept, he might have no longer felt like a failure (and since he hasn't been check for almost 2 years, we have no idea if things are any better in that dept either).

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.