Friday, Jul. 11, 2014 2:11 p.m.

leap of faith

I got offered a new job. The job I interviewed for last year and didn't get. The job I've felt I should naturally progress to, especially with two kids now. A job with a better working environment and where I believe I would be much happier. A job that I feel is the right step for me right now. A job that I don't want to turn down, as it would probably never be offered again.

Another at-home job, but one where my kids would not have to be put in childcare and I could work around their schedules. A job I could live anywhere in the country and still have (my current job limits me to CA); this gives me the freedom to move to another state if we ever needed to.

So much about this job is so right for our family.

Except that it's only part-time. It may go full time sometime later in the school year, depending on student enrollment, but I have no guarantee at this point.

I feel like taking this job is what I need to do. I feel like it's the job I'm supposed to have. Something about it just feels "right".

But again, it's only part time. I don't know the exact salary yet...but it would likely be cut in half from my current salary.

Though K is temporarily working, the position is only extended in 2 week chunks of time. He'd obviously like for it to turn permanent, but he doesn't know if that will happen or if the company is planning to hire for full-time.

So I am, of course, like it's been the past two years, still the primary breadwinner.

But I don't want to be the primary breadwinner anymore. K knows this. It does stress him out some. I know that he'd like for me to not have to work (or only work part time) and for him to bring in more income. But still, I am tired of being the breadwinner. I am tired of the weight of all this being on my shoulders and having to sacrifice for this.

I have an excellent job opportunity ahead of me, and I want to take it.

I want to make this leap of faith. I believe that it will work out somehow. It is the right job for me at this right time.

It will work out. *I* will make it work out. Even if I end up having to take a second job, *I* will make it work out. *I'll* still take on the responsibility of providing for this family. No matter what it takes.

I love my husband, I do, and I know he doesn't like his situation either, but can I have a selfish moment here for a moment? I have spent the last 2 years working at a job I didn't really like anymore, in order to support him while he chases his dreams. I started a blog in January of this year, and I've also just invented a new product (and filed for a patent on it), but before these two things - I have basically given up all of myself in support of his dreams. I lost my identity to his dreams...and well, a little to motherhood as well. When is it MY turn to chase MY dreams? I sound horrible saying this, but I wish he'd just buck up and do whatever it takes to take on the responsibility himself and now give me the opportunity to chase my dreams instead.

(And without getting all passive-aggressive about it either and taking the worst job he could find in order to somehow throw it back at me and try to make me feel guilty for "forcing" him into a job he hates. Ugh. I think I've been giving into the P-A thing for too long and you know what? I'm just over it now. Do what you want. I'm not going to be nice and feel sorry anymore...but anyways, I'm majorly digressing here...)

I mean, what would he be doing right now if he were single, and didn't have me for financial support? He'd have to find a way to survive, on his own.

If I were single, or even single with 2 kids, would I take this part-time job? Yes. I would. I would find additional work in the meantime, and hope that it later turned full time, and if I really had to, I'd move back home to my parents house for a short while until I could financially make it work. I'd still take this job. I'd still take this leap of faith that this is the right job for me.

I told K that if I had to turn down this job, against my better judgement, but then a week or two later he was offered a full-time position somewhere - that I would hold it against him. And I would. And honestly, I might even resent him some.

It would be the ultimate betrayal of my own individuality.

I don't want that to happen.

I don't want to let this opportunity pass me up.

I want to take this leap of faith.

And I don't want him to hold me back.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.