Thursday, Aug. 30, 2012 8:33 p.m.

seven year itch

I have been thinking about writing this entry for awhile now. This past month has been very busy with work, but I think I may finally have time to write tonight:

In a month, K and I will have been married for 7 years. 7 years. Yep, the supposed "seven year itch".

I think that when I was pregnant was the best time in our marriage. We were both just so happy and felt so in love. We were were excited about our upcoming arrival, yet because it was still the two of us, we still had the freedom to do whatever we wanted.

We both now love, love, love baby C and she brings us great happiness and joy - but it is as though we now get our greatest happiness from her - and no longer from each other. I suppose this is a natural outcome of parenthood; it's as though our love for each other stems from our love for baby C and not the other way around. I suppose this can be a good thing and it bonds us to our child...but it can also redefine our martial relationship if we let it.

We want more kids. We're starting to talk about trying again. We LOVE being parents. But being a parent absolutely divides our time away from being a spouse. And I don't think we've yet found the perfect balance between both roles.

We both love each other still. We always will. We are both anti-divorce (our own, at least) and that will never be an option for us, no matter how bad things could ever get. We are absolutely in it for the long haul.

However, with all this said:
--------------------

In the last several months, I've noticed a difference when we fight. I think I've even mentioned it here. Our fights don't end well, because well, they don't end. Too much gets brought up, too much that was previously 'swept under a rug' and ignored. I get flustered and can't stand up for myself; K gets angry and thinks that I'm passive-aggressive. It doesn't end well. So we'd rather not even fight and try to avoid serious confrontation. No, that doesn't actually get anything truly resolved, but it's best for us right now. I've mentioned going to see a counselor, just to help up find better ways to communicate during arguments, but once an argument passes, I'm too busy with other things in life to actually pursue going to talk to someone. Plus that just costs money, and that's hassle to make schedules work, and we'd have to find a babysitter. So yeah, more bother than it might be worth.
-------------------

I don't leave the house very often anymore. I don't have friends to hang out with, so I only really go anywhere with my family. Plus, I've have been plagued with absolutely awful acne the past many months and just never feel like going anywhere. So I hole up at home. I don't feel attractive. I'm not depressed or angry at being at home all the time - I've actually because a huge homebody - but I do feel too unattractive to really be part of the world sometimes.

I don't remember the last time I noticed a guy even remotely checking me out or anyone even remotely seeming interested in me, not necessarily in a sexual way, just even in a normal way. I have become used to being invisible.

But I of course miss feeling attractive or interesting. It can be a real confidence boost to feel so.

A week or so ago I had a dream that involved Mr. Miller and college 3-week boyfriend. In the dream, I was married to K. I knew I was married. But Mr. Miller and 3-week boyfriend were both interested in me and both wanted me. I found myself making out with one (shh - K if you read this, don't be mad; it was just a dream!), but feeling both bad for the other guy who didn't get me and guilty for not being with K. But to be honest, I also woke up from that dream feeling a confidence that I hadn't in a really long time. So what if it was a dream? At least in that dream (of my own self-delusional creation), I was desired. And that felt good.
------------------

That's not to say that K doesn't ever desire me anymore. I'm sure he does. I still desire him. But things are just different when you are settled in and know each other so intimately well. We're not bored of each other and we really do love each other, there just isn't the same excitement.

It's something we all have to face and it's something that happens in marriage.

But I think the key is in how we deal with it and come out of it that matters.
-------------------

I've been really crazy busy with work the past month. I've pretty much been doing two people's jobs while I'm waiting for them to hire another person for our team. I'm also a work-at-home mom and have C at home with me all day. That adds up to about 3 full-time jobs. So I'm busy. Surprisingly not overly stressed. Just busy and surviving each day.

K and I spend time together, but don't spend time together. It's better than nothing and I do have him around, so I can't complain. He is a good man and will rub my feet and helps a lot with our daughter. So I can't complain. But we still don't spend much time together, alone, without a tv or computer or baby. Our paths don't always seems to cross at the right times and I know we both kind of miss each other and feel something is lacking, though we can't exactly name what it is.

We both always know that we're loved by the other, but deep down don't always feel

I know this, because K actually said to to me last night.
-----------------

I often have a drink or two before bed each night. I don't know why I often drink at night as I do, though I'll say that part of it is so that just in case K finds himself in the mood, that the alcohol will help me to better get in the mood as well. It's almost as though I'm worried that I can't be in the mood otherwise.

Stupid, huh?

But I think K may have had a drink or two last night (or was at least just feeling particularly forthcoming), just as I had had a drink or two and we actually talked a bit while lying in bed together. I don't remember how it came up. I know we were both trying to be snugglily, hoping we'd lead to other things, but something must have been said or alluded to and the mood was broken and we were once again stuck. He mentioned, sounding only half-serious, but I knew he was full-serious, that I didn't like him anymore. I told him that was stupid and that I both liked and loved him. I then told him that I didn't really feel like he liked me much either...or at the very least that he didn't like to kiss me anymore.

Nothing really came out of our semi-tipsy conversation other than acknowledgement. But still. Acknowledgement is the first step, right?
--------------------

K's been friends with the groom of the second wedding in this entry for many, many years. K knew him when he was still married to his first wife. Knew him when he had an affair. Knew him when he divorced his wife, moved to Hawaii to be with that new girl, and moved back to Cali after they broke up. K knew him when he met his 2nd wife and K still knows him now...as he's divorcing his 2nd wife.

Though I've never been privy to the guy talks they've had during this, I have been aware of who this guy is for the same amount of time as K and privy, via K, to the changes in his life over time. His history of failed relationships has always been an interestingly tragic one to me, especially the parallel of his failures to mine and K's successful marriage.

What makes our marriage last, and not others? To be honest, I think a lot of it has to do with our wants and expectations. Neither K or I will ever entertain the option of divorce, so when things get difficult (or when we go through the slower "7 year itch" times), we know we have to make it work and we have to find a way. There is no other option for us. I wonder if some people give up too soon, or at least start to entertain the idea of quitting which can quickly grow into an acceptance. Marriage is awesome and wonderful, but it is work and there will be hard times, much harder times than you might think. (It's kind of like parenthood in that way, come to think of it).
--------------------

K and I will make it. I have no doubts about this. You can bet on our marriage lasting.

But I also think that we've entered a new stage recently and that this "seven year itch thing might have some truth to it.
--------------------

Oh, and I'm home alone tonight. K's in Las Vegas with friends. I both miss him and am enjoying being alone.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.