2002-01-05 11:50 a.m.

life is stupid!! what else is there to say?

OK, life is just stupid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm not depressed right now, but I'm terribly apathetic. Which I know is the first stage of being depressed, so I'm not all too excited and I'm seriously hoping not to get depressed here soon. I've been doing so good.

I've decided I can't stay in one place for too long. I've been at home for 3 weeks now and it's very much worn off. I'm honestly scared to death of going out to LA, but I can't wait to get away from home. Home is not a fun place to be! I love my sisters, I love my dad, but my mom I really can't stand sometimes!!

How do I describe things? you know, a life is so complicated, how can anyone ever understand someone else's? There's no way to describe my mother to anyone or even to describe the conversation we all got into today or how I'm feeling now. My mother is a lost cause. Ahh!! I'm so frustrated!! Me and my 2 siters and her talked for almost an hour and what good has come out of it? My mom said she has an anger problem and always had. She said that she would never change and that she may end up hitting one of her daughters again. She pretty much said that she gave up on a relationship with her daughters and we tried to tell her a lot of stuff and told her that we should all try to talk about things more.

Nothing really came out of the whole conversation at all. At one point I was trying to tell her how we all felt(and I NEVER talk about what I feel and think inside) and I said that I was pouring my heart out and she said, "no, you're not" and I just decided that talking about anything real to my mother is a lost cause. I desperatley would LOVE to tell anyone that I know the things I think and why I think the way I do, but I never wil be able to. My mom just showed me that today.

If it weren't for this diary and my site, I swear I'd kill myself! I can't take life, it's so stupid! These are the only ways I can let myself out, to be free to think whatever I want. Really, though, if I wasn't able to get these things out on the computer, I would bottle it all up and then I would be so frustrated with life, specifically MY life, that I would end up killing myself. I don't think I'm beyond that.

And the worst part is: I don't EVER want to be like my mom! Children don't have to be like their parents, right? I feel like my mom secretly hates us, even though she loves us, it's real weird. I never want my kids to feel the way I do sometimes. My mom made is sound as if that who she was and there was nothing that could change that; she just had to deal. I see a huge problem with that. Maybe I'm just stubborn and when I tell myself to do something, I will, but I really think that you can have self control enough to keep anger at bay. I mean, achoholics have to have the self-control to not drink, people with anger problems can have the self-control not to lash out, if they just put their mind to it.

I also hate the fact that my mom is like this deeply religious person. My dad isn't. My dad is smart. I respect him. Religion may help some people, but I can't help feeling that it destroys others. It makes people very weak-minded. It destroys their sense of self and that's what it's supposed to do, but when you have no sense of self you're not very self-relaint, and can't seem to muster up much self-control. You know, I read this thing in Readers Digest, it was some science report or something about how studies have shown why we feel spiritual. There's a part of the brain that is aware of the self and they did test on all different religious people's brain while they were praying or meditating or whatever. And it was found that the people felt the most spiritual connection when the awareness of self part of the brain was the weakest. It was really interesting.

Well, I don't really want to go and do anything right now, but I guess I can't spend all day typing usless things into this computer.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.