Sunday, Jan. 14, 2007 4:04 p.m.

god, I need a lobotomy.

I have way too many online outlets, where I try to spout off my opinion, hoping someone will listen. more importantly, hoping that someone will think I'm smart.

but the reality is, no one really cares.

and I'm ok with this. I really am. it's taken me a very, very long time to be ok with this, but I think I am.

I still wish people would listen to me. I still wish my opinions mattered. I still wish others though I was smart.

I think that's why I'm writing this book. and why I keep re-writing it, constantly changing my words, trying to succinctly explain what I want to explain. how do I make the story interesting, how do I make it resonate to others, what words in what order do I use?

I get disheartened, quite a bit, really. thinking I'll never be able to do it. never be able to write anything good enough. that anyone wants to read, that anyone wants to understand.

maybe I should write a different story. maybe I shouldn't write this one. no one reads my diary anymore anyways. no one cares about what I have to say. I'm boring, I'm old, I'm selfish, I'm shallow.

I have no interesting points anymore. I'm not open-minded enough, I'm not naive enough...I don't know what I�m not enough of anymore - but I feel like I'm not enough.

I do wish sometimes that I had an audience. I wish that this diary was cool again, that I was younger and hip-er and people wrote me notes. I wish I still updated my website, and that people read what I had to say.

I wish I made smart comments on the groups and blogs I comment on. I wish people respected me.

but...the strange thing is...I've accepted that they don't...and I've learned to live.

this is a very rambling journal entry. and I'm ok with it being as such. as I sat down and wanted to get emotion out, this is the first place I came. I know a very few people may read this, and I know the two people who will actually comment on it.

still, it's why I go back to my book. I have to write it. I have to feel like I can say what I want to say. I have to feel like I can present something reasonable to the world.

it scares me sometimes, how much I want this thing to get written, how much I'm afraid that I will leave the world without being anything.

I almost said how afraid I was to leave the world without contributing anything...but then I realized that I didn't mean that. I meant that I'm afraid to the leave the world without being anything.

I long to have a command of language. to be able to communicate, to be able to translate, not language, but thoughts.

I feel half-autistic sometimes, the way I think in my head. I've learned my whole life to use phrases and definitions to describe what I mean, to put things into neatly formed boxes of words...but it frustrates me so much sometimes!

I think that's why I'm drawn to it though, to writing...because it's all I have. it's all I have to try to understand both myself, and it seems like more importantly, others.

are we all the same? are all these thoughts, that I can never correctly convey, are they the same as in everyone? am I like everyone else? is everyone else like me?

I had a difficult time yesterday signing a happy birthday card to my grandmother. K said I should say "we love you grandma, happy birthday", but I couldn't. I couldn't write love.

I love K. I love my best friend. I love a few other handful of people. I love people that I respect, that I know, that I think are good people. I don't love a lot of people. but I don't hate them either. I just don't love them. I don't love my grandmother. she is not a bad person, and I honestly don't know her all that well. but I have no reason to love her.

I feel like I am channeling ayn rand, but I don't think I've ever loved out of obligation. I tried to explain this to K, that I loved him, and that I loved him in a way that I think is a greater love than any other love I can give - I love him because I choose to love him. because he is good. and because he worthy of my love.

but I don't know if this makes sense.

it scares me, sometimes, what I think. because, above everything else - I just want to be honest. I want truth. more than anything.

and most people don't think like me. or at least I'm assuming they don't from what I've gathered.

and while I always want to be honest and true to myself, I also want to be socially connected to others, I want to be liked, I want to be accepted.

but I think, when it comes down to it, that I value this weird, thinking, truthful, honest part of me more. so if it came to it, I would have to choose it.

but I miss that social connection. I miss being normal, I miss saying things that people agree with.

I perfectly realize that I'm not saying anything right in this entry and that this last part will be very confusing and sound like I'm about to turn into a recluse or something, which I'm not. but as I stated already, I have a hard time with language, and tend to get caught up in a particular thought, dragging it in circles, using many different words, hoping to bring it out correctly, which I never do.

this is me.

I'm confusing.

I usually erase these things, making them sound more respectable, before I present them to anyone in a journal entry.

but I haven't this time.

I'm not afraid of people's perceptions, because I don't think I'll get any though this...and I think that the two people who will read this already know that I get like this and will let it slide.

I want to be someone someday. I want to accomplish something. I want to be interviewed, I want people to want to talk to talk to me, to hear what I have to say.

I want to sound smart and coherent.

but all I can accomplish are entries like this.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.