Saturday, Jan. 17, 2004 10:26 p.m.

roommate fight

you know what i love about getting into arguments? how much you learn about yourself. seriously. maybe i�m weird, but i think that it�s natural for two people with any type of relationship, whether it be roommates, sisters, lovers, or friends, to argue and get into fights. in fact, i think it�s healthy. but i also think it�s how you end the arguments that can make or break you.

but i also think that i�m weird. and that i like for things to be honest and out in the open and most of the time, people only share their true feelings about things in a heated discussion.

me and my roommates just had this huge fight, seriously, if we were on a reality show, it would have been edited to be the fight to end all fights. it was a good one. but we finally got to the core issue of all the little annoyances with have with each other.

i�m selfish. and i can�t deny this (see my psychological egoism essay). and i�m also stubborn. when i get into an argument, i want to come out on top. but my selfishness wasn�t actually the core issue that me and my roommate were having problems with. it was how we deal with telling someone what to do.

i feel sorry for people who have parents who are psychologists . my parents aren�t, but my mom would always talk to me and my sisters in that kinda mindset, as though we were always wrong because our minds hadn�t yet developed enough to possibly comprehend how things really were. and it�s weird how when you get older, you start to realize that you unfortunately are more like your parents than you want to be. and i have five younger sisters and have always been the one who�s supposed to have all the advice. and i think too much. and i have this website where i post all my thoughts on things, like other people are supposed to learn from them or something. i�m good at telling other people what to do. i�m good at feeling that i�m right.

but apparently, other people aren�t good at dealing with people who are good at feeling like they�re right. and my roommate is one of them. i�m used to feeling like i�m in charge. she can�t stand feeling like someone�s in charge of her. and we totally clashed heads. and i am so glad we finally figured this out!! seriously, i mean, i still think that the way that she deals with things is very immature and childish as though she�s some rebellious teenager and that she hasn�t yet figured out that we�re college grads and don�t have to prove our independence anymore, and well, i could keep going on and on about what i think she needs to change, but i know that i can�t change her and that what i�m doing is switching into my retarded (and sometimes conniving) way of thinking that i have all the answers and that i�m always right. so, instead i�ll stop and focus on what i really got out of our fight:

i think i know all the answers (even if i don't). i act like a psychologist when i get into arguments. i say exactly what i think and don�t hold back . i try to bring the argument into some happy-medium conclusion and figure out what the core issues are. i�m blunt and a little mean, yet remain calm, cool and collected. no wonder people probably hate arguing with me. i probably come across as self-righteous. i don�t know any other way to be. i�m ALWAYS in situations where i�m the leader, the mother/big sister figure, the one with the answers or advice. yes, i�m still figuring things out myself, but i like to act �wise� in figuring these things out, as if i�m in a better place than others for at least admitting my downfalls in not knowing everything yet.

i really hope i don�t screw up my kids one day. i hope i can figure out how to be wise without coming across as everyone else is wrong or lower than me. i�ve also realized that i�ve got to marry a guy who a) can deal with my sometimes bluntness and know that i really don�t mean it rudely, b) also feels that arguments are healthy and the best way of discovering ways to improve yourself and c) is never afraid of confronting and admitting their imperfections.

i think it�s funny how there never seems to be an end to figuring myself out. i think i know who i am, and then something like this argument i had tonight makes me realize how i really am and why i am that way. it�s just weird. i wonder what i�ll discover about myself in the future�.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.