Monday, Mar. 08, 2010 4:57 p.m.

single, married, childless, parent

Last night I drove 4 hrs. to Las Vegas. This morning I tried to juggle appointments and teaching from random places I could get internet. Then I drove 4 hrs. back home.

I have a Calculus test tomorrow morning.

Then I drive back to Las Vegas tomorrow night and stay through the weekend.

Fun. But not "party" fun.
----------

Over the weekend, we had a couple friends from the "early days" over for an impromptu barbecue. These are people that I first met back when I was interning or when I first moved out here, and that I still know only because they were K's friends and kept in touch with him. So when I ended up sticking with K, well, naturally, I ended up still knowing them too.

I enjoyed having these people over and talking about the "good ole days". They are such a weird mix of friends - out in L.A., I partied with them when in my early 20s when I first moved out here, yet the majority of them are all christians who went to church/school together. They weren't/aren't "industry" - they're like my college friends, only they are my just-after-college, college friends.

We sat around talking, catching up on people. I mostly didn't know the names, but I recognized a few. Most of the stories were: oh, they're married with kids, or they have TWO kids now, or they left L.A. and have some nice, normal job, etc. Half the group was single, and K and I, though married, are without kids - and we kind of found ourselves discussing these people with a small sense of aloofness.

What happens to people as they grow up?
Is it sad that those people moved back home and gave up dreams and lost contact with us in order to be settled with a family? Or are we the sad ones, still here, still pursuing it, many still single or without a family (whether voluntary or not)?

It actually made me remember a lot how I used to view married people back when I was single. It seemed after marriage, that couples entered some new boring world. They had no need to go out; they had each other. They wouldn't understand the plight and regular loneliness of singledom...maybe they had, but they had easily forgotten it. It was awkward in public with married couples - what did you talk about with them? Their lives seemed to revolve something completely different than yours - something you kind of wanted to understand, but couldn't and especially didn't want to be reminded that you couldn't.

Because K and I started dating, got engaged, and got married in a really short amount of time, I remember promising myself that I would not act like a normal married couple afterwards. I would not cling to K in public. I would not talk about our personal lives in front of others. I would not make jokes about sex. There were many things I was not going to do. I was always going to remember what it felt like to be single and look on married couples.

I still remember this. After 4 years of marriage, I can't say I always follow this though. Sometimes, sadly, my life is kind of boring and I don't really have much more going on in life that what I'm involved in with K. But I actually think this has much more to do with my switch in careers than anything else.

K and I still hang out with a lot of singles though. And I try really hard to not act "married" in front of them. I wish they knew that sometimes; that I really do try and take that into consideration. I like being married and who knows, maybe they really want to be married to, or they may not, but either way I don't want to make anyone feel weird around me because I am.

Someday if I ever enter the new stage of life that is parenthood, I'm going to have to remember this too.

We are still our own persons, no matter what stage of life we happen to be in. I know I am.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.