Thursday, Jun. 12, 2008 8:22 p.m.

a lot of egg donor talk

It's the eve of my second retrieval. Last night at exactly 1am, I had to give myself the big "trigger" shot in the butt. I forgot how big that needle was; seriously, it's about 2 inches long, and it's very weird to push 2 inches of metal into your flesh and then push down on the plunger, injecting yourself with this liquid that you just mixed in some vials.

It's funny how 'doctor-ish' you begin to feel after going through these donations.

I met the lady who is getting these eggs yesterday. I forgot to mention that. I say "these" eggs, because "these" eggs in this donation are totally different than "those" eggs I gave to the other lady 3 months ago.

I think about that other lady. I wonder if everything is going ok with her pregnancy. I think, if I'm doing the dates right, she's almost in her second trimester right now, which means that, with twins, she's probably showing. I wonder if they're boys or girls. I wonder what they will look like when they are born.

I don't have my own kids yet...so those two twins that came from "those" eggs will be my first genetic offspring. Of course, I'm naturally curious what they will look like; if I'd be able to note a resemblance.

Personally, I think all babies kind of look the same, but people tend to see things in their own babies, so who knows?

Oh yeah, so I got to meet the lady I've giving "these" eggs to. It's interesting how I'm so much more detached from this donation than the first. I know what I'm doing this time; I'm aware of the emotions, of the ethical issues involved. I'm not worried that it won't work; instead I have an overwhelming (and possibly misguided) confidence that it will. After all, it did last time. So it has to this time too, right?

On meeting her yesterday, I think my 'recipient' (we call them 'recipients' in the donor world) looks more like me than my last one did. She had my coloring and something about her face just looked like I imagine I will look in several years. She was shorter than me though, I remember that. She was bubbly and had this great attitude and gave me a hug right off the bat. I liked that; she didn't feel awkward.

But I also didn't feel the same overwhelming awe in meeting her as I did with the first recipient. Despite her outgoing personality, she seemed guarded still, as though she found it easiest to remain happy by not thinking too much.

She mentioned to me that this was her last try, that I was their third donor, and that their first donor had been her niece. I told her that I really wanted this to work for her this time, and that I really hoped it would. I wanted to tell her that I KNEW it would...but realistically, I know that I don't know. And I'm pretty sure she's gone through enough by now to not get her hopes up about anything.

And this breaks my heart. I know there's nothing else I can do at this point to insure this for her, and for them, but if there was something I could do, I would. It's hard knowing that I have no more control over this...and that she's placing so much hope in me.

I don't pray often, but I might actually pray about this.

I am worried about my post-retrieval recovery this time though. I had no idea what it'd be like last time, and so now I'm pretty much expecting to have another absolutely miserable recovery week. I'm trying to prepare, to not make any plans, to have on hand the few things that provided any comfort last time...but I think I might also add a less painful recovery to my prayer list.

I'm already thinking a lot about my next donation. I committed to a third couple a couple months ago, and the clinic from my first two donations is already trying to recruit me for more after them. I've told them that I won't commit to doing anymore until after this next one - I want to give my body a rest, I want to have a normal sex life with K again, and I want to make sure that I'm not screwing up my own fertility that I'd like to put to use eventually.

I'm really excited about donating to this third couple though. I have a little secret about them: I know them, but they don't know that I know them. Well, I guess I don't know them, but I know a lot more about them than they may know. I've discovered them on an infertility message board and I've been able to keep tabs on their journey the past couple months; I've even read things they've said about their donor, all the while knowing that I've been reading about myself.

It's kind of weird, but kind of awesome, and I really, truly, like this couple a lot. I think I would be friends with them if we met in real life.

I just don't know how they'll take to my little bout of internet espionage, so I don't plan on contacting them...at least for now; I do think I'd like to be honest with them eventually.

I am excited about tomorrow though. This is the beginning of the fun part: finding out the number of eggs they get, learning how many fertilize and how many they transfer...and lastly, if it results in a pregnancy for them.

I really hope it does. I don�t think I�d want to know if it doesn�t; I�ll be devastated, and I can�t at all imagine how the recipient couple would take it.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.