Wednesday, Jun. 13, 2007 7:01 p.m.

bitter

lately, I have become a very bitter person. I know, I shouldn't be and I should feel bad about myself and seek to change it.

but the weird truth is, I feel like I need it right now. that it is my defense mechanism. that it is my way of coping. perhaps it is not a good method...but I'm too tired to figure out a better one.

things suck right now. yes, things could always be worse. I know that. I could be eating out of a trashcan and sleeping in the streets. but just because they could be worse doesn�t mean that they are good right now.

they aren't.

before I got married, I existed in a time when I thought things were good. when I was happy. when I had enough money to be comfortable. still a poor, recent college grad, but comfortable. I had friends, I'd go out for dinner or drinks, I saw a future ahead of me...I was optimistic about my life and my future.

then I got married. and added a second income. we didn't have much, but there were promises of more in the future. I felt empowered. I felt I could be someone that people back at home would be proud of.

I felt that choosing to move 3 states away and make my life in some crazy city called L.A. made me impressive.

and I was happy. we were both happy.

but the thing about L.A., especially within hollywood, is that, no matter how secure you think you are someplace, you're not. you NEVER are.

and we've been learning that. the hard way. for the past year and a half.

I was beginning to give up hope a year ago. and then K got a job. and then he didn't like it and it made him miserable. so he quit.

secretly, I didn't want him to. I wanted him to keep going. but he was terribly unhappy, and I still had faith that something better would come.

but nothing did. and he did random stuff, here and there. he brought in enough that, combined with my income, we could make it work.

and then my student teaching began. and my income stopped. and we struggled, and used savings...but still. we made it work.

he was still doing interviews and we still deeply hoped that something would come. and for a moment, just a brief moment, it looked like the storm was passing...but it didn't.

but still, he tried. and kept interviewing.

and then, just as things looked promising...again...he made a brash decision - without me - that ended up screwing us over yet again.

and now he's leaving there too. and while, yes, I agree that his boss is certifiably crazy...I'm so tired of doing this.

so tired.

but I still love him so much. and I really do want him to succeed. so I keep going, with this strange broken faith, believing, hoping, praying that something, someday will work out for him - for us.

I don't know how much longer we can hold out before we move back to texas, give it all up, and become a manager at best buy or something.

everything we dreamed about. it's just not happening. and I don't know how much longer to keep being delusional that it will.


so this brings me to my bitterness. I find it hard to read blogs about people from college, about all these people with kids, and nice jobs, and owning their own houses. it makes me cringe when I see pictures of their rosebushes, or when they talk about products to use in their disposal.

hell, I wish we had a disposal. or even a kitchen sick that didn't constantly back up if the water's on too high. and I can't even imagine ever owning a dishwasher. I've almost forgotten how to use one.

it's hard to hang out with friends, knowing that they can actually afford to spend the money they're spending on stuff. we still spend the money though, like we used to. we're too afraid, or perhaps we don't know how, to stop.

people always tell you that things will work out. but they're just saying it, because things don't always.

and I'm afraid that we may be one of those unlucky ones.


so sorry about my bitterness. I hope I have reason to abandon it soon.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.