Tuesday, Jun. 14, 2005 9:27 a.m.

why people get married

ok, so I've recently had this whole new epiphany about myself and my vain intentions in keeping this online diary - but all that is gonna have to wait until later 'cause I have something else to talk about...

yesterday I was talking and getting to know this small group of people. one of the guys had a ring on his wedding ring finger, and another girl nearby asked if he was married.

he said no, that him and his girlfriend weren't into the whole marriage thing, but that they wore rings because of their commitment to each other.

and then they asked about my ring and I told them I was engaged and the subject changed to something else and we kept talking, yada, yada, yada...

only I kept thinking about this guy who wore a wedding ring but wouldn't get married.

and then I read rainforme's entry today. and then moretoknow's note she left for her.

and here I am, about to get married and seriously contemplating all that that entails. So...

WHY THE HELL DO PEOPLE GET MARRIED??

there is something to say about commitment. yes, marriage is supposed to be a freaky thought, because it's a freakin important decision!!! but that life-long commitment, to both the good and the bad, is what makes it so incredibly wonderful and consuming and takes you to a whole new overwhelming level of love.

love is more than a feeling! it is more than emotions. I do not always feel this happy love glow around my fianc�. sometimes he annoys the crap out of me. we get frustrated with each other.

but I care for him. deeply. he is an amazing partner. we are honest with each other - we are still trying to figure out life and relationships and what we want. I am so happy and thrilled and content knowing that he will be by my side for life.

why are people so against marriage nowadays??!!! I seriously don't understand.

yes, weddings are dumb. I think so - and I'm still having one. it's not for me, but for my relatives and friends who want one. and yes, it is going to be a big party. I want people to celebrate with me. we've seriously considered eloping, but in 30 years, I will probably regret it if I don't have a wedding. I never got to go to prom, and I still feel a pang of sadness when people are comparing their remembrances of this supposed important event in adolescence.

if anything, get a marriage license for tax purposes. for insurance purposes. for all the benefits that come from being able to claim that you have a spouse. don't change your name if you don't want to forever be associated as one with your husband. but do if you want to feel like your are truly entering a new life with him.

why are we so afraid of making choices nowadays?? honestly, in the end, it's not about making sure you got the ultimate best choice, but about choosing the best you can and making it work with what you have.

I gotta go, but in case you haven't read it, here's my love and marriage essay with more about my thoughts on all this...

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.