Thursday, Aug. 17, 2006 6:47 p.m.

my grandfather died

I didn't write about this in here. I don't know, maybe it got lost in the hustle and bustle of things always going on in my head. or maybe it just wasn't the forerunner of my emotions each time I sat in front of a computer screen the past several days, so it never got written.

but, last week - my grandfather died. he had a heart attack three days before my sisters wedding. it was weird timing, how can a family be happy and sad at the same time? but it was how it had to be and how everyone was this weekend.

my parents went to the funeral on Monday. I didn't. our flight didn't leave Texas until Monday afternoon, and it was the cheap, non-changeable kind. so we didn't change it.

I liked my grandfather. he was cool. I didn't see him that often. I saw him at the past several thanksgivings, and at occasional special family events throughout childhood. he lived in a different state. we never talked just to talk. but still, I thought he was cool. he'd tell me stories about my dad growing up that my dad had always kept quiet about. I liked that. I respected him, though I didn't know him well. he was tough, the old kind of tough that doesn't really exist anymore. he was strict, and firm, but only in an orderly sort of way. we were all going to play poker together at thanksgiving this year. it would have been cool.

I didn't cry when I was told he'd died. I still haven't cried. I don't think I ever will.

my mom called me yesterday to tell me how the funeral went. I think she expected a different reaction from me. but I don't know what I think she expected. I asked her about the service, asked her how dad was - but I guess I didn't show emotion in my voice. because I didn't feel any emotion in my head. and I think she got annoyed, or frustrated, or something. our conversation was awkward and short.

one of my other sisters posted a new blog on myspace yesterday. I read it. she talked about our grandfather's death and how she bawled alone in her car. she seemed to have felt the sadness that has always eluded me.

I talked to K about it last night. is it bad that I don't feel what others feel? am I some evil person for not crying or being upset? I agree that death sucks, and my grandfather's death only reminded me that my life, too, is short, that I will one day be dead. I felt sadness at this, more sadness at this than at the fact that he was gone.

isn't death just as natural as life? it's unfortunate that we must have an end, but we do. and we will die.

I understand this. and I know that any sadness I could feel would not be for him, but for me, and the things I will miss.

only realistically, he was not part of my day-to-day life, and my everyday actions will not notice his absence and mourn for him. I may miss him at Thanksgiving, when I take note of him not being there, but I do not miss him now.

I just don't know if I'm supposed to act another way at his death - and if so, why?

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.