Thursday, Aug. 22, 2013 5:19 p.m.

bobbing

Bank overdrawn again today since rent check cashed yesterday. I don't know how that happened. Admittedly, I probably wasn't paying very close attention, as I thinking about money just depresses me so much, so I try to avoid it when possible.

I also probably should've borrowed more money from dad when he offered, but I didn't want to take too much from him and I thought I was taking the bare minimum we'd need.

I get paid tomorrow. But a single paycheck is just not quite enough to make all of rent. K is supposed to be getting a large check soon, but he talked to them today and they said it might be a couple weeks still.

One of us is going to have to call the landlord and ask if we can pay half of rent upfront next month. Once again - surprise - we cannot make rent.

We are maxing our our credit cards. I just cancelled automatic bill pay on all of them. I previously was only paying the minimum. Now it's a game to see how long until we get sent to collections I guess.

Actually K already got a collections letter in the mail this week from an old hospital bill (seriously, from 4 years ago) that recently decided that we needed to pay more. K had refused to pay. So that was the first collections letter (probably of more to come).

I looked up the idea of moving to a cheaper place. Found out that there isn't too much cheaper in the area. Moving will not really help anything.

K has had a bunch of pitch meetings this week. Things are seeming to go really good for him. I mean, there is a decent possibility that someday soon, we will no longer have money troubles.

But that is SO FAR AWAY right now that it is hard for me to care. I feel bad, that I'm not very excited for K. I used to be way more optimistic. Because really, even if something does work out soon, it will still be months until money is seen. We cannot last months. We can barely survive days.

I was at CVS last night and some coupons got applied wrong and I didn't notice until later and I ended up spending $4 more than I meant to. And it seriously pissed me off. I mean, $4? Why should I get so frustrated over $4? Right? I miss the days that $4 was nothing to cry over. But now? Ugh. That $4 was the difference between splurging on getting carryout pizza from Pizza Hut instead of making dinner. Or money I could've put toward something I've been saving up my Swagbucks to get on Amazon.

Really, these amazing things are happening for K right now and while I am semi-excited, I just can't get fully excited. I've become this crappy person and all I care about right now is - when does the money come? Money. Money Money. Money is all I care about.

The dr. want me to come in at the end of next week for my first ultrasound. All I can think is, ugh, I don't want to pay for the office visit, especially when I know it might be too early to see a heartbeat anyway. Even though the funds can come from my HSA account. I only have so much in the HSA account, and I don't want to use it up on unnecessary dr. visits.

Where can you get money on a short notice? I can't bring myself to borrow from my dad again. I just can't do it. Something that pays cash? There's got to be a way. I think I'll see if I can trade in some books for Amazon gift cards. I don't really know how that works, but I can look into it. $2 hear and $3 there adds up and I don't need most of these books anyways. right?

I wonder how long it takes for you not to pay your tv or gas or electric bill before they shut it off? I think I'll cancel tv tonight too. Shh, don't tell K. He's been so hesitant to give it up, but seriously, satellite is freakin expensive.

We once had good credit scores. Thank goodness we traded in our old cars and leased this new car back when our credit was good! It's not so much anymore. Maybe if we ever are ale to buy a house, we'll have so much money that we can pay upfront in cash, so no one will care what our credit score is anyway. Right? I can dream...

Oh gosh. And have I mentioned that I have a fear (I'm hoping this is just stress worry and not a strange premonition) that I'm having twins. Wouldn't that be funny?

Oh life is funny. So funny.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.