Saturday, August 30, 2003 2:47 p.m.

A Jewish Christmas and other weird political views I never knew I had

(note: seeing as how I was without internet for over a week, this entry was written yesterday, but just now added)

I really miss the internet. I�m so ready for some type of routine to begin. I�m ready to take advantage of all those opportunities I came out here for. I�m sick of being cooped up in this same apartment, the pile of things-still-left-to-do staring me in the face. I think I�m also ready to get to know other people than just my roommates.

We got into our first roommate �discussion� today, over religious holidays. The Jewish roommate doesn�t want to celebrate Christmas, and told us all about how hard it is to be a Jew during the Christmas season. Which confuses the HECK out of me because she claims to not be a religious person, yet seems to take so much offence at a holiday which has origins of a Christian holiday. I do realize that I don�t know exactly what it�s like to be a Jew during this time, but I don�t understand the bitterness�I enjoy Christmas. I don�t enjoy it because is an �insult� to other religions, hell, I don�t even think of it as a religious holiday anyways! Sure, you can celebrate it from a Christian angle, but you can also celebrate it from a completely non-religious, atheistic angle. Gingerbread men, Santa, snow, Christmas trees, caroling, etc. have nothing religious about them. I can understand if you choose not to take part in nativity celebrations if you do not believe in the religious symbolism involved in them, but I see absolutely no reason for the bitterness towards everything about the Christmas season. Especially if you are not even a religious person, why do you get so upset and passionate about celebrating your religion�s holiday (Hanukkah) and blocking out all the other �religious� celebrations? How can you say that any religion (including yours) is better than any other? Can�t you just accept that you choose to celebrate differently than everyone else without trying to conform their thinking to yours??

I think this has really touched a nerve with me, although I�m not outwardly showing it. I guess I maybe have a lot of Southern conservatism in me. But the main problem I face is that people from up north or even here out west seem to think that their ways are right over everyone else�s. They refuse to try and understand other viewpoints, yet think that they are already so �open-minded� and �diverse� and �benevolent� toward us �poor, uneducated, deluded, conservative folk� that they overlook the possibility of truth existing outside their own. I�m excited about this city for the freedoms it presents, yet worried that I am not free to think as I do. If I am not willing to think that everything is ok and everyone discovers their own truth, then my thoughts are not welcome here.

(p.s. and please don�t think that I�m just stereotyping Northerners as liberals, because even though I am, I�m also stereotyping Southerners as conservatives. I�m just generalizing, so play along�)

I am too liberal for the conservatives, yet too conservative for the liberals.

Homosexuality. I do not believe it is a natural, �I was born this way� type of thing. I believe it is a choice one makes due to various influences in their lives. I cannot sit here and tell you that it is wrong or evil or bad, because I do not posses the all-knowing ruler with which to judge these things. I am not homophobic; however, the only thing that makes me uncomfortable is their attitude that they couldn�t help their sexual preference and that they are right and that the whole rest of the world is wrong not to agree.

Abortion. I think there was a time when this whole issue was milked to death, but it�s still important. I am practically pro-choice, and do not think the option of abortion should be illegal. However, I find it very, very odd that the same people who fight so hard for abortion, also fight so hard for the abolishment of the death penalty. Both demonstrate a human�s power to legally end another�s life. One because of a crime they committed, one because of an inconvenience they present. Abortion, to me, seems more cruel than the death penalty, yet I cannot find it in me, for some odd reason, to say that women shouldn�t have that choice. I consider myself pro-choice, but pro-life.

I feel like I should go ahead and add a third political view because things always seem to go better in threes. But I just realized how long this entry was getting and how passionate I�m getting about these useless things which I�m not going to be able to change anyways.

But still, this is going to be an interesting city, Los Angeles. Or maybe I just have interesting views. It�s amazing how this whole liberal/conservative, North/South battle still, and always will, rages.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.