Monday, Aug. 30, 2010 10:39 a.m.

Emmy after-party

I wasn't drunk last night. But memories are slowly filtering in this morning as though I were. Did that really happen? Was I really there? Did I really see who I thought I did?

I think its because it all happened so fast. Not the event necessarily, but the lead up to it. K got an email about it Wed., got the invite in the mail Thurs., we kind of forgot about it Fri. and Sat. and then, bam - it was Sunday. I hadn't even thought about a dress until Sat. night.

Speaking of dresses, I apparently only like to take on sewing projects if I have an immediate and last-minute need for something. I had a backup dress, the one I wore to K's premiere, but I decided, no - I wanted a new dress. And I didn't want to spend any money on it.

So I took my bridesmaid dress from my sister's wedding 4 years ago and made some significant alterations. I worked on it all day. And then I wore it...to one of the most fashionable parties...in the world. Quite possibly.

Whoa - that's weird of me to say. It's also weird that it may actually be true.

Needless to say, the party was amazing, if not a bit overwhelming. I saw a LOT of famous people. I didn't even know if they were famous after while. I don't really know who too many celebrities are, and since they were everywhere, and they all looked familiar since I must have seen them on tv before - my mind was just lost. I never knew if I knew someone for real, or only knew them on tv. And then, I didn't know their names. So I just stood around (well, walked in circles amongst crowds) and looked at people.

Speaking of being lost, the person I think was the coolest that I saw was Ben from Lost.

I kept thinking, "I'm in an important place tonight." I thought that if something horrendous happened to all of us (earthquake, terrorist attack, etc) to all of us at that party - well, it'd be big news. All over the world. Weird. I thought about if this party were the Titanic. These people would be in the first class lounge. And I'd be with them.

I also kept thinking about all of the fashion everywhere. What people were wearing. These events define the times and the future's remembrance of 2010 fashion. Women looked amazing in amazing dresses...yet they also looked like people in dresses. I may not be one of them, but I felt like I just as well could be. I've got just as many flaws as they do. We're all just people.

It was fun though, moving through the crowds, finding people from K's show to talk to. We weren't complete 'tourists'. We kind of belonged. Maybe only a few knew who we (and by we, I mean K) were, but being known by only a few was all that was needed.

Talking to one of the stars of K's show. Making plans to play poker together some night. People with big cameras stopping to take her picture. People carrying around Emmy trophies. This was all normal. Yet it wasn't. Yet it was.

Another member of K's show's cast, who's only 19 or something, but underage, drinking right in front of K and I and neither of us caring. Once you're in the party, you're in the party. No one cards. No one needs to. Celebrities aren't above the law, it's just that no one cares.

When we left, we got gift bags. I only briefly looked through them. Some lotion and lipstick and some other stuff? I'm sure it's expensive. I can't believe people just get these things. I can't believe how expensive that party was.

I can't believe how normal I felt being there, even though I wasn't anyone important. I can't believe how much I've grown in the past 7 years since moving to L.A. I can't believe that I feel comfortable in the life of the fancy party jut as much as I feel comfortable in the life of living in a trailer.

Life is just strange.

We didn't bring a camera. I didn't know if we were allowed to, though apparently we must have been since others had theirs. We did get one quick snap with K's phone. That's all we have to remember it by. But it's in my head somewhere...and slowly coming back out into my memories.

And it's even stranger to think that, if things go well for K...I might have more of these events to attend in the future.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.