Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2010 9:43 p.m.

it's my party?

I'm halfway through my first drink of the evening (quite strong, I must admit; I made it) and I'm already starting to feel it.

It is bad how much alcohol makes me feel happier sometimes?
--------------------

My birthday is in exactly a month. My 30th birthday. About a month ago, I decided to plan my birthday party. A murder mystery party.

I love murder mystery parties. I've thrown four others. I like them because there is an objective. A goal. You and the guests are actually doing something at the party other than talking about pointless crap. You're just plain having fun.

I invited 62 people. I'll be lucky if 15 of them actually commit to coming and do.

I'm so excited about this party; you have no idea. It's stupid, really, but it gives me something to be excited about. I've ordered cool party decorations, an authentic 1920's pattern to make my dress from, I've planned out everything. Researched period-correct food, drink, dances, music - I've even found images on what what US money looked like in the 1920's and made play money with the images (money is part of the party game).

I've gone all out. I've spent a lot of money. It IS my birthday present. I want it to be great. And even more than that, I enjoy having something to look forward to and plan for.

My only difficulty is in getting people to come. It's depressing actually. I have no friends. No real friends. 62 people invited. Maybe 3 of them I'd consider real friends, who actually know me and like me for me. And those are all the ones who live 1.5-5 hours away and probably will not make it. And one of them is my cousin; my own blood relation.

I'm worried that not enough people will come and I'll have to cancel the party. I need at least 12 for it to run properly. But I want at least 20 for it to be fun. 20. That's a 32% invitation acceptance rate.

Why is my life in a place where I would be HAPPY if 32% of my so-called friends/acquaintances came to a party I threw??

I mean, I'm feeding them. I'm PAYING for their dinner that night. AND their drinks. Alcoholic drinks. I'm throwing it early enough in the evening so that they can go out to the clubs/bars afterwards, if that's their thing. I'm giving them the chance to do something new and different on a Saturday night. I'm hosting and organizing the entire thing; all they have to do is show up and be willing to play along.

I'm even offering CASH MONEY as prizes.

And yet, I will be lucky if I get 15 people.

This is my shitty life. I have no friends.

All I want is people to come. I'm inviting ANYONE who will come. Everyone who lives within driving distance who's name I actually know. I keep expanding my invite list.

I know I still have a month to go. I know that people will decide to come at the last minute (when they discover that there's nothing better going on that they'd rather attend instead)...but I also know that the couple people who have RSVPed will likely drop out at the day gets closer too.

I really hope people come to my party.

I wish I had friends, not just these facades of people who only pretend to be friends if it's beneficial to them.
--------------------

I think I'll go have a second drink. And maybe try to seduce K for some evening fun.

Thank God I have K. He is absolutely everything to me. And the only thing I have.

(I hope we make a kid one day)

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.