Sunday, Sept. 30, 2012 9:56 a.m.

dreams of being a SAHM

I think I'd like to try out being a stay-at-home-mom. Not a work-at-home-mom. But STAY-at-home. Who knows, maybe I'd hate it. But maybe I'd love it.

But I just wish I could try it out. It's hard being a work-at-home mom. I'm neither a working mom nor a SAHM, but yet I'm both. I get the benefits of some of each, but the negatives of both as well.

But I can't be a SAHM. Finances don't allow it. Insurance doesn't allow it. Stability doesn't allow it. We can't survive on just K's irregular salary. We can't survive on just my salary either. But at least the ebb and flow of K's salaries balance things out.

Some months we have money. Lots of it. K gets some residual checks or we get a huge tax return, or he has a high paying job. And then we look at our bank balance and feel happy and relieved. We start planning to pay off debt; we buy things that we've been wanting for awhile, we take a trip or two to visit family.

But then other months, we aren't as lucky. The financier of K's company backs out and checks bounce. Other large expenses present themselves. Project that K thought might be going somewhere don't. In those times, we pull back money we were going to pay to debt, we don't buy many things, and we worry how long it will be until the next influx of money.


This is our lives. Over and over and over again. One minute we're rich, the next minute we're poor. It's so hard to balance it all and to know how to treat money. Some days we offer to buy things for others because we can easily afford it. Other days we can't really afford to pay for even ourselves (but can't really tell anyone that).

K works so hard. He's written so many things. He's come so close to "making it" numerous times. We get our hopes up, without admitting we've gotten our hopes up, over and over again.

It's a crappy life guys, the entertainment industry. If I have any advice for young up-and-comers, it's this: find something else. Don't move here (to LA or NY). It's not worth it. Find another passion and job while you're still young and can start over still.

We toy with the idea of moving back to Texas all the time. But it's a stupid idea; what would K do? I can teach anywhere, but I also can't support a family on a teacher's salary. K is good in his business, but being good here doesn't mean anything. And I don't know where his skills would transfer.

Blah. We're having a blah weekend. Too many things recently have seemed so promising, yet fallen through. We're both tired of hoping. He's waiting on this one last maybe promising thing, but each day of waiting feels like a slow acceptance of it not happening. So it's just blah.

K has such a strong determination though. I admire that. If I were in his shoes, I don't know how I'd have the umph to keep writing. But he does, and keeps working on new things, always believing this his newest project will be 'The One' that makes us rich. Or at least him successful.

So yeah, I can't be a stay-at-home-mom. Although, the more I think about it, the more I think I'd like to be. I'm exhausted all the time and the house is always a mess and I never cook meals anymore. And I wish I had the energy or desire to do that kind of stuff. Not to mention that I think that it'd make our household happier to have all of those things taken care of on a regular basis.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.