Sunday, Nov. 01, 2009 12:04 p.m.

marriage, stage two

It's freakin November! How is this happening? Ahhh time...why must you continually creep up on me and push me along?
(Although, I did enjoy going back in time early this morning and getting to relive the 2 o'clock hour twice. Thanks for that.)

I've been noticing a change in me the past several months. It started as a thought, or even a survival mechanism; K working crazy long hours, my lack of close friendships, my hatred for my old job. It grew out of a, well, a form of depression maybe? Or perhaps a kind of surrender to reality? Or just a giving up, screw-the-world kind of attitude.

I think my new job has helped. I'm happy again. I'm me again. Good ole random me.

I think I've reached a good place in marriage too.

Years ago, when K and I were dating, I remember being at my parent's home and reading a random article posted on the bulletin board in the laundry room. My mom had no doubt placed it there, hoping her daughters would glean advice from it. Of course, if we ever read it, we never told her. But I did read it. It was about different stages in a long-term relationship/marriage. Considering I was starting to think marriage with K, I was curious if any of it were true.

At the time, I was all about getting to know K and wanted to do everything with him and share my entire life with him. The article said that this was usually the first stage; the desire to become one. The second stage though was one of increasing independence, the desire to establish oneself as an individual, rather than a couple. I remember wondering if this were true, as it seemed somewhat sad. Why would I ever want to "grow apart" from K?

But I think I'm in that stage now. And instead of being a sad stage, it's fantastic. Interestingly, I actually feel closer to K because of it. I recognize my ability to have my own life and do my own things, but at the end of the day, it is always him that I go home to. We trust each other; and that trust is empowering.

For example, Halloween last night. At a huge house party. I was confident going off without him, talking to strange guys and even, dare I admit it, flirting a bit. Why not? It was fun. I live in Los Angeles, land of perpetual youth. Why not exploit that? It's flattering to feel attractive. Even when I WAS single, I almost never actually took flirting to another level, so somehow doing the same thing now doesn�t make me feel as bad as maybe it should. I wasn�t planning to pursue anything by talking to them then; I�m not planning to pursue anything by talking to them now � so why not just have fun?

Although I did get kind of a sick enjoyment once or twice while talking to real sleazy guys; there�s nothing like watching their faces when I suddenly introduce them to my HUSBAND and they realize that they just wasted the past 10 minutes talking to a girl they never had a chance of sleeping with.

I�m going to Vegas next weekend with a friend from college. I joked with K about taking off my ring so I could flirt with guys and get free drinks. He told me I could. I think I might do it. Why not? He knows I won�t do anything other than gain feminine confidence�and that he�ll be the one to later reap the benefits.

I often wonder what our friends think of us. I may just be flattering myself, but I�d like to think that we�re a kind of an example to what marriage is really like.

I hope we�re a good example. I think we have a really good marriage.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.