Friday, Feb. 20, 2004 6:16 p.m.

reality tv saved my life

it�s funny that there these things in my life that are really stupid and inconsequential, but somehow they influenced a whole chain of events and made me into who�ve i�ve turned out to be.

ok, so way back before "reality tv" was even considered as a genre...before Survivor changed television as we know it...before america had any concept of American Idol...there was only one show that mattered. and that show was: Making the Band.

yeah, so it was a show about the forming of a boy band and not at all meant to be a life-altering experience, but somehow, through a series of successive events, it was for me...

it began to air during the midst of my worst depression when i couldn�t find a reason to get out of bed. and because this �unscripted television� thing was so unique, it actually got my attention and i found myself caring about the guys and their dreams. and that�s the biggest thing that depression had caused me to lose: the ability to care.

so, i started taping the shows and then i got my sister addicted too. and we�d call each other up and talk about the show like we were stupid middle schoolers. it was fun. so like a typical fan, i looked up the show online, and i ended up discovering that the company that made Making the Band also made the Real World. and i figured that i needed to experience more than my sheltered life had offered me and sent in an audition tape. i didn�t tell a soul about it, but ended up getting called back a week later, making it to round 2. i never made it any farther, but for a brief moment, i felt like maybe i was a semi-cool person, and that felt good...

while looking on the website about how to audition, i also saw that the company offered an internship. i thought, �hey how cool would that be to get to work on Making the Band?!� but stupidly, most people, i wanted to be ON camera, so i never considered it. i ended up auditioning twice more for the Real World (which is actually right around when i started this diaryland thing) before i realized that an internship at this company would be the next best thing and i could still get away from my life for a bit.

i have no freakin idea why the hell they ended up choosing me for the internship, but they did. so, still as my complete na�ve self, i came out to this incredibly scary los angeles to work at this incredibly �worldly� company where people were actually non-christians, and even weirder, possibly gay. i practically had my own �Real World� experience � i finally began to feel comfortable in my own skin, if you will.

so, anyways, so sum the rest of my life up, i went back to school, graduated, came back out here to los angeles and now i work in reality tv. my name is in the credits of a tv show, and i�m probably about to go work production on another show. i�m actually on the �other side� of reality shows.

today at work i had to go pull some old tapes from the vault of some of our old shows, including Making the Band, and find some clips. so, as i sat there and watched the opening of Making the Band and heard the theme music, i can�t even tell you how much it took me back in time. but it didn�t just take me back to 4 yrs. ago - it almost took my memory in a complete circle. it took me from today to 4 yrs. ago and back through all the process that brought me here today.

and it�s really so weird, because it�s just a stupid reality show, nothing more, nothing less. but i really, really can�t imagine my life now if it hadn�t been for that show. i wonder if something else would�ve come along in it�s place and knocked me out of the depression i was suffering from...or what if nothing had come...could suicide have claimed my life...

it�s just really weird to think about: a reality show may have saved my life! :)

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.