2002-04-02 8:15 p.m.

puddle of puke

hmm...well...new lesson: Being drunk is highy overrated.

I talked about in an earlier entry how I hardly ever drink, and when I do, I never get drunk. I never had, ever. Until last night. hmm...I feel kind of weird even admitting this, it's so not me. But maybe who I am is no longer the who I was. Not that I ever to be drunk again, I really think that once was enough for me, but I'm just changing too much out here and having all these new expirences. I don't know what to think about it all.

Alright, the story: Crazily enough, I was caller 102 on KIIS-FM (the one that Rick Dees is on)and ended up winning tickets to the premiere and after-party of National Lampoon's Van Wilder. Yeah, like an actual premiere and an actual after-party. It's crazy and I was really excited! The movie itself is alright - funny, I laughed, but a little crudely gross. It just was cool 'cause I got to walk down the red carpet, not like anyone paid attention to little non-stars like me, but I could pretend I was important.:)

There weren't any HUGE stars, but I saw Ryan Reynolds (I LOVE this guy - took a picture w/him and everything!), Carmen Electra, Tiffany Amber-Theisan and Tara Reid. The after-party was in The Sunset Room. It was pretty packed and it just felt important to be there, you know?

They had an open bar, so of course I had to take advantage of that. :) But I hadn't had much to eat the whole day, and I'm not a big drinker, and well, the two apple martinis (I'm told this is the new Hollywood big drink, so woohoo, I'm cool now!:)), the cosmopolition and the sex on the beach got to me pretty good. It kinda sucks because I really wish I could remember more of the night now. I mean, when else will I get this chance? I know we talked to these guys for a real long time, I have no clue what I talked about anymore, I swear I felt like I was in a dream, it was real weird. I couldn't see all too straight towards the end of the night, and it's so weird for me even to admit this, but it all honeslty feels like a dream, I couldn't figure out what was real. I guess I behaved quite well and didn't act drunk at all because the friend I was with said that until I asked her to drive my car, she thought I was fine. That makes me feel good, at least. I can still control myself even when I don't remember what's going on.

But, yeah, now for the not-so-good part. I get home and pass out on my bed. I remember not believing that I was feeling that way and trying really hard to stablize my senses and be more aware. I don't like feeling like that. Well, I threw up twice last night - but I didn't make it to the toliet. I guess I somehow thought I was dreaming and that I didn't need to clean it up. So, I ended up sleeping in my own puddle of puke.

I woke up two hours late 'cause I hadn't remembered to set my alarm. In my puke. talk about the grossest thing ever! I couldn't believe that this was me. I took a fast shower and threw my comforter in the washer and went to work. yeah, I didn't feel so great this morning, not surprisingly. It's just all a brand new feeling to me. I'm sort of ashamned, but also sort of glad that I at least finally had this expirence. I now know WHY I need to be careful how much I drink in the future. I also learned not to drink when I have to work in the morning.

So, this is just another lesson to add to my many I've already gotten out here, I guess. I still cannot believe that I really did that last night, I cannot believe that that was me, and I really wish I could remember more of everything. Oh well, all I can do is learn, right?

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.