Wednesday, May. 14, 2014 11:16 a.m.

11:50

So I don't think I'm ever going to write out my birth story in here. I've written it out other places and I feel like I've moved on to other things.

K's dad left yesterday morning and finally, FINALLY, all our guests have left us and K and I can go back to our crappy lives. And even worse, now that Baby S is here, we should be officially figuring out a direction for our lives. But no, we're still all "well, let's wait and see of something happens still".

Look, I'm not opposed to something amazing happening at the 11th hour and 59th minute. If so, great, and we'll change our plans last minute. But right now, and for the past year? We've made NO plans, just waiting and thinking that something is going to happen. Like in the movies, you know, right when the main character is on the brink of despair when they're at the precipice of not being able to go back - that's when it all works out. That's when the girl comes running back, or they get that phone call, or something or other happens that saves the day.

It's like we're just expecting and waiting and planning for that hollywood ending to come to us. We made it to rock bottom now, so, um, someone's supposed to come and get us now, right?

Nope. No one else is coming to save us.

We've been in the 11th hour for a long time now. We've only a few minutes left until the end.

K and his agent parted ways last night. I don't really know what this means. Is it bad? Well, it doesn't seem good to me. But maybe this now means that he is open to finding better representation at a better agency. If anyone wants him still.

K and I sort of talked last night. I just want to know what I should be doing. Should I re-look up info on moving or a PODS rental, or having a garage sale, or looking for jobs in Texas? Or should I just keep waiting? K gets upset because I'm putting too much pressure on him when he doesn't know the answers either. But we've been doing this exact same thing for what seems like years. At some point, shouldn't I be allowed to put some pressure on him to come to some sort of decision...or at least to work out a contingency plan with me? I am his wife and half of his life after all.

K took off for a couple hours. I'm at home. S is asleep (thank god for newborns who sleep a lot) and C is in her room playing. Before he left, K told me that I should probably start looking for teaching jobs in Texas. He had placed his hands tenderly on my shoulders while saying this, but when he did, for some reason his hands suddenly felt suffocating to me and I tried to slightly brush them off. K could tell, and I think was hurt.

But here's the truth. I love him and I'm obviously willing to do whatever for him and his career/lack of career/whatever. I went into teaching, partially because it was better for one of us to have a steady paycheck. I've kept my job at my school this year - even though I was miserable most of this year - because I had to make money for the family. I really, really don't want to work again next year, but I'll do it again if I have to. I basically have made my life so that it fits into his plans and so he can follow his dream.

I'm not saying this bitterly AT ALL and I'm not bitter by any of it. It was my choice to allow him to peruse this dreams over me developing any of my own. His dreams became my dreams. I put my own desires (if I had any; I don't even know what I'd do with my life anymore if I could chase whatever I wanted) on the back burner, thinking that eventually, once he because successful, that I could stop working and have the luxury of pursuing something on my own.

While I love my family in Texas and would love to be closer to family and possibly have friends again - I don't really want to move to Texas either. If we moved, K would completely give up writing. He's talked about maybe going back to school for another career. He wouldn't have a day job and write in the evenings. He says he doesn't want to do that. I have to respect that, I guess; I can't make him keep writing and maybe that's just how he'll handle the loss of his dream the best. But you know what? I DO NOT want to have to keep working to support him going to school. Why does he get the fun of going back to school? I do not want even more debt placed against us either.

So when he placed his hands on my shoulders in the kitchen earlier and told me I should probably start looking for a job in Texas - yeah, it all just hit me and I felt trapped. Suffocated. I didn't want a warm embrace; if we have to face these unpleasant facts, then let's just face them. Don't try to make me feel good about them. It is what it is and that's all. I'll be happy about it someday maybe, but not now. Now I'll just do.

I'm a good wife. Marriage is important to me. I'm not going to give up on it.

But we don't always work well together.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.