Wednesday, Jun. 08, 2011 1:04 p.m.

24 days

I should write an entry. It's been 24 days since my last one. I don't especially feel inspired to right now, though I have at other times in the past couple weeks and just never got on here.

A week and a half ago, K's grandfather died. K was actually very close to his grandfather, which is something I've never fully understood, as I was never close to my grandparents, but I know that he was very close. Trusted his grandfather more than his own dad, actually. We've known for years that he was slowly getting less and less mobile and closer and closer to passing, so I can't say that it was a surprise...but still, I know that it was hard for K.

I flew out to the funeral with him, in Florida, last week. I'll be honest, I only went because I love K enough that I wanted to be there for him. Because otherwise, I dislike funerals and usually opt not to go to them. Too much emotion for me - and I usually do best if I recognize and accept the loss of a person logically. Crying is not fun.

There was an open casket. I shouldn't say this of course, but open caskets always make me extremely uncomfortable. I understand their purpose and that for some people, it is an important part of their grieving to see the body, seeming to rest peacefully, and know they are gone. But for me - I prefer for my last image of a person in my mind for them to be alive and happy. I feel as though my memory becomes tainted when my last image of them is instead of their body.

But the funeral was not for my sake, it was for K's. And I know it really helped him, even if it was a difficult time.
--------------------

Pregnancy is still going well. I'm clearly showing now and obvious and it's weird because now everyone knows. Even people I don't know.

I don't know if I'm bonding with it yet, but I am coming to terms with the size of this thing inside me. It's huge. Well, it's still small, but huge as in if it were to be born at this point, it would look like a person and doctors could actually have a good chance of saving it. So it's considered "viable". Which makes it real.

It moves a lot and the movement always reminds me of what it felt like when I'd eat a big meal and have digesting rumbles. But it happens all the time, and sometimes is annoying, but mostly I just forget about it.

I'm starting to seriously think about the birth now. It's so strange that that will happen to me. It's so strange that I am actually pregnant. It's so strange that my stomach being big is not because of fat or eating too much, but because it's supposed to take this shape as this foreign thing grows inside me. It's so strange that I'm just going to keep getting bigger and bigger and that soon I will not be able to easily see my feet when I stand. It's so strange that in 3 months or so there will be a squirmy baby creature that will belong to K and I to take care of for the next 18 years. It's all so weird.

But I love having all these weird things to think about.

And I love feeling so in love with K right now and being so content and happy.

I feel like I'm in a very magical time of life right now and just enjoying every minute.
--------------------

School is just about over. I have three weeks of summer break, then three weeks of teaching at this summer program, then next school year starts already. It's all going to happen so fast. It kind of worries me. This new stage of my life will be here before I know it.
--------------------

K is on hiatus right now. This last season finished a couple weeks ago. Which also means that his awesome paychecks stopped. We have money saved up of course, in fact, more money that we've ever had saved up, but oh, how money can disappear quickly. I get one more paycheck before school ends, and then I'll get paid at the end of July for my summer job, and then start getting paid again once school starts in August...but I mean, we definitely can't live on just my income. K's unemployment will help, but it's strange to wonder where K will go from here. I guess we've officially entered the life of the sporadic tv writer.
--------------------

Have I mentioned in here that I have a garden and that I love it? Because I do, and I do. :) Green beans growing right outside my office window are almost big enough to start picking. Sitting out in my small garden just makes me happy. Why, I don't know. But it does. I like growing things. :)

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.