Friday, Jul. 22, 2005 9:22 p.m.

one of "those girls"

so on my drive home from work today my mind randomly flashed back to a conversation I had with my friend and ex-roommate about a week and a half ago...

we were talking about something or other and then she suddenly said:

"oh my gosh, you're going to be one of those girls that've only slept with one man!"

like it was some surprising realization that spontaneously came to her.

and though I asked, she didn't really elaborate on what she meant.

hmm...one of "those girls". like I'm ultimately naive because my experience is found through only one person? like I'm missing out because I don't know the many different styles that different men could offer me? like I don't know how well I could be satisfied because I'm just being content in one man and one man for life??

is that what "those girls" are supposed to be?

I remember reading an entry from dannyboyk2 awhile ago. he used the illustration of ice cream flavors and how can we ever know what our favorite flavor is unless we broaden our horizons and try as many as we can...sure, we may be content in vanilla, but why settle for contentment when there's so many other flavors that might end up being even more satisfying?

(I think he was really using this illustration about religion or something and not the encouragement of promiscuity, and actually, I'm not even sure if it was dannyboyk2's entry, it might have been someone else�s...)

but still. it got me thinking.

on one hand, yes, I think that we should constantly keep learning and experiencing and expanding our basis for knowledge. we should try all the flavors in the ice cream shop � you never know, you may stumble upon something you like better. how can you ever really know if you�ve never known otherwise? you know?

but then on the other hand, I don�t think that�s right.

contentment in one thing and never knowing anything else does not lessen the level of contentment you experience in that one thing. if I liked vanilla and never tried anything else, I�m not losing the satisfaction I find in ice cream. in fact, I think if no choice existed between flavors of ice cream (like if vanilla was the only flavor ever created), that I would probably be more content than having as many choices as I do now.

each new choice is new opportunity for dissatisfaction. and what is it that what we want in life? to be happy? to be satisfied? to be content?

why do we then fight contentment?

yes, so I am one of "those girls". only one guy has ever been inside my vagina. I have only touched one penis. if he is vanilla, then yes, maybe I would like mint chocolate cookie more, but I�ll never know that�because I�m content with vanilla. and I CHOOSE to continue to find happiness and contentment in vanilla, and vanilla only.

ok, so I�m �na�ve� because I only know vanilla, but you know what? I prefer to be this way, thank you very much. and I�m glad that I�m one of these girls.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.