Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007 4:08 p.m.

oh, but the good news is that I now have a garbage disposal.

sometimes I think that I am the only one who thinks like I think. when I say things, the language I use is not the same language that others use to explain things. I do not know if this is because I understand the world differently, or if I am just incapable of properly putting things into the word that make sense.

I spend a lot of my time in my head because of this. I find it very difficult to associate the things that are inside me and of my person to the outside world and the things that are around me.

I find it hard to know the right words to use, and often worry and stress that the things I have said or the words I have used have implied something that I didn't mean to imply. I am afraid of what other people will interept my words and actions to mean.

I miss being a child, when there was a sort of patience that people offered you; they sought out the meaning of what you were saying, rather than what you said. I have been struggling for years with the fact that I am no longer young and that people no longer have that patience with me.

I am unsure of what I am doing, yet it would be unprofessional to ask all the questions I want to ask - I would still let my emotions get tangled in my questions, showing my anger and frustrations when I should be acting like I am calm, cool and collected.

I fear that I am missing something, that I am being ignored for something that everyone is hoping I'll figure out magically on my own...because no one will tell me. I don't know if this fear is irrational, or if I have correctly picked up on it. I don't know - but I know that there is no one around to ask. There are no adults to confide in when you are an adult yourself.

I am worried right now. and unlike all the times I've worried before, when I was in the process of getting someplace that would make things better - I am now in that place. I have completed the journey...but there is nothing here waiting for me. And I don't know if I'm supposed to wait, or wander around, or go back to the beginning and take a new path...and I'm worried that every decision I make is the wrong one.

I'm at the library right now, in a little corner in the back. I am alone...and I don't want to leave. I don't know what to do when I leave. so much potential is floating out there, so many unreturned phone calls and emails...something could happen. anything could happen.

and I don't want to leave here until I know that something is happening.

because I feel pointless right now. exiting for nothing. I try, but feel lost no matter what I do.

someone please tell me what I am doing wrong.

(I got an email once, a few months ago, from someone who said that I had become selfish and whining and boring. I know this is probably true, but I am terrified of getting another email like this. It scares me when I think of all the years I've written in this thing, of the few people who once read it on any type of contunial basis, and of the person I've become. I don't claim to be the person I was, and I hope to God that I don't always stay the person I am now. it scares me that I have so few friends, and that I wonder if the people who know me best are indeed the people that ot one time or antoher read this thing. I am not always like the things I write - I am not writing every moment of my life. I do have deeper reflections and I am surpremely happy at times. I confide to this journal because it helps to confide to something. I hesitate making the whole thing private for traditions sake. I doubt anyone has stayed with me over the past year and listened to all my tirades, but if they have and someone has gotten through this forever huge paragrah - please don't email me any advice or tell me how crappy of a person I am. I already know.)

I enjoying rambling in this entry. I should do it more often. it makes me less stressed, and unclogs my brain.

I still hope the people call that need to call me, or respond to the many emails I've sent out and inquired about things.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.