Wednesday, Sept. 14, 2011 9:55 p.m.

I swore I wouldn't complain

I swore I wouldn't complain. I swore I wouldn't complain. I swore I wouldn't complain.

But I'm about to complain.

K isn't home tonight and I'm extremely bored. I have no motivation for anything, because I feel like there no point in getting anything done. I don't know the time schedule of anything coming up and I've already prepared for everything that can be prepared beforehand.

They say you're supposed to have a "nesting" urge and burst of energy before it happens - well, I'm about the total opposite of that...so I suppose that means that it's never going to happen. A couple weeks ago? - TONS of energy. I'd work, work, work and I had motivation, motivation, motivation. I felt like exciting things were right around the corner and I couldn't wait to get it all together. I enjoyed the energy; I enjoyed getting things done.

Now I've just given up. Why clean? It could be a couple weeks still and things will just get dirty again. Why work so hard to get ahead for my job? I'm going on leave in only two days and everyone's already prepared for me to be gone at the drop of a hat, so I feel like they can already survive without me and I'm not needed.

Any other projects I'd like to start involve me moving around somehow or moving things or picking up things and I just feel so awkward when I move now and I don't want to do anything. I have very few things to wear that are still comfortable and I'm sick of them, so I don't feel like leaving the house, even to take the dog for a walk.

I'm just cranky. That's the best way to describe the mood I'm in. The whole purpose of my existence right now is just to pass time until it happens...and existing for nothing other than time is a really shitty way to spend your life each day.

My midwife comes again tomorrow. I was hoping last week would be the last one. Now I'm trying to get myself to expect at least 2 more so that I won't be disappointed. I don't want my midwife to come. I don't want to hear her go on and on about what I should be eating, or how much I should be drinking, or the exercises I should be practicing, or if I've made any decisions about vaccinations or circumcision or pain management methods. There is nothing left to talk about at these appointments - just check my blood pressure and the baby's heartbeat and let's be done with it, ok?

K's parents come into town tomorrow. Ugh, this means I have to start looking presentable and be polite. My mom, though trying not to bug me too much, keeps texting how I'm feeling - which is the polite way of asking if I'm showing ANY symptoms of it being soon and if they can book plane tickets. Nope. None of the textbook symptoms. Trust me, I'm searching for anything and everything that could be a clue (unless, can this current bout of crankiness count? please? can I have something?).

I know people are anxious. I'm anxious too. Actually, I'm anxious more.

But really, at this point, I can't imagine it actually happening on its own and I just want to go to sleep and ignore the world until I'm 2 weeks post due and they'll induce me and something will actually happen.

And now I get to be pissed at myself for writing this stupid entry and complaining even though I swore a million times I wouldn't complain about anything.

hmm... maybe I'll just pretend that it's not really complaining that I'm doing right now. Instead, it's just, um, VENTING and recording the my current emotions during these last days.

yeah right - I think we all know the truth.

blah.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.