Sunday, Sept. 29, 2002 8:17 p.m.

more time and stuff to think about

If I had Aladdin's lamp and could have any three wishes, I'd want MORE TIME, MORE TIME, and then, of course, I'd throw in 3 MORE WISHES in there at the end! but still, I need more time!! I'm sick of feeling like I can't get everything done even if I wanted to. Then I get overwhemed and don't want to do anything, so I come proscratinate and write in this diary thing. It doesn't help me get anything accomplished, but hey, at least it helps me slightly unstress and reason that in the end none of this school stuff really matters. I seriously doubt in life that anyone will deny me a job simply because I can't write a great essay on industrialization during the 1920's or that I don't remember which planets don't have moons. It will be OK. I will get through this week. I will graduate and I will find a job somewhere. It will all be OK.

I went camping this weekend with my family. It was nice. I could camp my entire life. Outside is the place for me. Who needs air conditioning? I know I'm like the only person who would ever say this, but if air conditioning had never been invented, I think I'd still be OK. I might even be a happier person.

anyways, I got to talk to my aunt. see, I have a cousin that I grew up with. He's my exact same age and he got married in May of my senior year in high school. He now has two little girls. He was in Georgia in the Army, but about a month or two ago, he was honorably discarged. He ended up coming home w/the girls, w/o his wife. That's all I knew and I had a feeling it was one of those things I shouldn't probably ask about. Well, I got to talk to my aunt and find out what really had been going on. to make the story short, his wife had never really been taking responsibility for the kids, she went out with friends all the time, she cheated on him twice. He was having a hard time finding places for the kids to stay when she would just decide to not come home and he needed to leave for work. it just was a real bad situation. I guess there were other things too, but when my cousin ended up getting discharged for having ADHD and money problems and everything just hit him at once, he snaped and ended up in the hospital with slit wrists.

I didn't know any of this until last night. My cousin was there camping with us (he's now staying with his mother, my aunt), along with his precious, cute little girls. I can only imagine why he would just want to be dead. It makes me wonder why I ever feel justified in being depressed and wanting to die. What huge problems do I face? I many times hate life and see no reason for continuing? what crap. I don't have 2 kids, a cheating husband, financial debt; I haven't just been discharged from the very program which I loved and could provide me with most of my medical and financial needs. wow. it just really made me wonder and feel ashamed for ever allowing myself to wallow in my poor, own little self-misery. I'm so selfish.

Another thing that made me wonder: what if my cousin had ever accidently stumbled upon my little website? not that he has, but people in his situation, or feeling as hopeless as he did, have. I guess it brings more of a face and a story to any "hit" on my site. I admit, sometimes it's hard for me think of people out there in internetland as people, real poeple, and not just their words that pop up on my screen. But it really changes my view on all that. It's all just been a bunch to think about.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.