Monday, Nov. 17, 2003 7:29 a.m.

freaked out

this is the first entry i've ever written in this thing while it's locked and no one else can read it. so it's really like me talking to me. i kinda like this. but then i know that eventually i will unlock this and then this entry won't be this private little entry anymore, so i guess i can't just babble to myself as i usually would do.

i just had to lock my diary for a bit. i got really freaked out. i opened my yahoo account on fri. and found out that my roommate was signed in. which freaked me out 'cause it meant that she must've been using my computer. and i'm really protectative of my computer, probably because i have a lot of my personal thoughts in essay form saved on my desktop and i have a link directly to diaryland in my browser window and i am always logged in becuase why not? no one else uses my computer. my roommate, who i don't really trust enough yet to have the decency to let me keep my most innermost thoughts secret, could have SO VERY EASILY seen and known it all. and that freaks me out beyond control.

this site/diary keeps me sane. and what keeps me sane about them is that it's like my own little secret that i only seldom choose to expose about me. i have to know that i know something about me that others don't. i have to know that no matter how life treats me that at least i always have this to turn back to. i can always write it all out...yes, i realize that besides this entry, people out there can read my thoughts, that this is an open diary in the realms of the public internet, but i can't see the people that read this. i don't interact with them in my daily life. i like this being a type of intimate secret i share with random other people i would otherwise never know.

and in that instant that i realized that my roommate very possibly could have read this or even become aware that i had an online journal, i came close to losing it. i don't even know if she looked at it and i'm not going to ask her 'cause if she hadn't it would give it away. but i started freaking out. and i didn't realize that i had the ability to freak out like that anymore. i guess i kinda had gotten to the point where i figured i was a pretty balanced person, i didn't think there was anything major with me that i needed to fix. but when i freaked about this, i realized that i was werid for getting as freaked out as i was, and i don't really want to be that weird.

but i also don't know if i want to unlock this diary. well, i know that i do, i feel kinda stingy or something by hiding it right now. it's like i'm saying, hey look, i have all this stuff written down, and i know i used to let you see it, but now i'm going to be selfish and keep my thoughts to myself. of course, now i sound quite egotistical like my thoughts should be worth anyone paying attention to. but i guess i've already established that i'm an egotistical asshole, so it's ok. :)

i just don't know what to do right now. i need that freedom of being able to air my "dirty laundry" and not feel shame in it...but i can't be discovered. i really can't. i can't lose the sense of confidentiality i have in this thing. i've become addicted over the years, i don't know what to do without it.

i do trust very few certain people to know about this thing. i recently confided to my sister that i have an online journal and along with my best friend, that makes a grand total of 2 people that know about this thing. honestly, there are a few other people that i've met at one point or another that i would trust with the completely personal and honest thoughts i portray in this thing. but my roommate is not one of them. i don't know why, but i know that i don't get the right "vibe" from her, if there is such a thing. part of me almost feels that if she was to know this stuff about me, the information she had would almost be a way of control over me. she would know far more about me than i know about her and it would only help her take me, find my weak points and make them strong points for her.

of course, maybe i only feel this becuase we have so many differnt opinions on things and we get into so many discussions. i think she comes from completely differnet places than me and thinks so different from me and if she read this, she wouldn't connect and instead find reasons why she didn't agree with my thinkings. maybe that's what i'm afriad of. i don't think thinking different than me is bad, but a lot of times i feel like there's so few people in this world who really have the same basis for thinking that i do and i just want to try to offer my thoughts on here in a way to connect with them. and i know that the only two people who know about this thing have the same basis for thinking that i do and that they would use this as a means of understanding me and not making judgements about it.

so, i officaly freaked out, but writing this huge random entry soley to myself has helped some. i like doing this, not caring that this is super long or not making any sense. it's nice.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.