Thursday, Nov. 28, 2002 12:09 a.m.

growing up is hard to do...

Lately, I've been feeling really grown up and mature. What is happening to me? It's as though my life that has been figuring itself out this past year, and especially this past semester, has finally almost evened itself out. All that I am and all that I was who I hated is coming out and is opening up. All my deepest inhibitations are being rooted up and I'm facing that which I really am. It's scary. and weird.

I don't really know where it all came from. OK, I do. This semester I was determined to change, to finally be happy with myself and to be real. But, I never expected things to go like this. I somehow thought that me being determined to be confident and be myself was all that it would take. I didn't realize that I would once again have to re-evaluate myself and who I am and who I want to be. I've had to re-think all that I hold to be important, all that I think my life is supposed to be one day.

It's funny to say that this one little 3-week relationship with a boy could make such a difference. But it wasn't just that. But that just came at a time when it was needed. He made me think about what I wanted...in life, in relationships, in my future, in anything. He made me think beyond that which I was allowing myself to think. He made me realize that perhaps there are certain things in my life that I still need to work on and figure out.

I'm discovering that I'm not as great as I've somehow let myself think I was. I've always thought that I hadn't figured things out yet and was pretty realistic about that, but somehow I always thought that I had found a place that others had only not reached yet. I do have problems, just like everyone does. I guess if I was perfect, I'd be boring 'cause there'd be nothing left to change.

I talked to my mom today...about stuff. I never really talk about life stuff with her. But I did today. I told her about this relationship that is no more and what I really felt about love and marriage and all that and she gave me advice. I have NEVER talked to her before about stuff, I've always refused to go to her with problems and just be another person who goes to her for help. We talked about my future plans that are completely up in the air right now and how maybe I'm re-thinking the whole entertainment industry. Maybe I want something more solid, more REAL. I told her I realized that life and our memories are only what we choose to think of them as, and things are not always as great or as worse as we think. I guess she was amazed that I made such an adult statement and my mom, being the huge emotional person that she is, started to cry!

I rented the movie, Pi, for my dad to watch and then afterwards told him what I thought the movie was about and the deeper and more philosophical undertones about the seach for the meaning to everything. I've never opened this can of beans up to him before...let him know that I also have this deep thinking side to me.

I don't know what's come over me. Perhaps it's this boy again...but I don't know what he did exactly. Maybe made me think, maybe made me realize that opening up is not such a bad thing, that I can finally be myself, and yet, know who myself really is. Maybe I've been wanting to figure this out for awhile and this boy just helped give me a reason to go for it.

I've learned a lot about my heart. Mainly, that I do have one! I tend to not trust feelings, I'm too logical for that, right? But, I think I occasionally need to throw myself into my feelings - to go with my heart and not just constantly question if my heart is making the right decision. I've realized that I'm such a girl and do get emotional sometimes, even when I try to pretend that I'm tough and not get upset by things.

I know I shouldn't attach so much to this guy...after all, it is only the first guy I've ever really dated...they'll always be more, right?...but he somehow broke in and got me to bring all this out of me and that's a first. I do still like this guy, but I can't even give specific reasons as to why. I just do, and this is still weird for me to admit, but I'm going with my heart here. I won't talk mysef out of my feelings, but just let them be.

It's nice to just be a girl sometimes...however, I'm not a foolish girl. I don't want to foolishly be blinded by these feelings and think that things will ever be there that aren't. So, that's why it's nice to have a journal in which I can write this all down and feel them, without being completely stupid, naive and follish with them.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.