Friday, Dec. 01, 2006 10:33 p.m.

alcohol makes writing fun

I don't think I thought that after I got married, I would have nights like this. but here I am.

I just finished my second drink, and I'm getting up to get my third. I'm alone. on my computer. at 10:30 on a friday night. the only thing that's likely to change over the course of the evening is my blood-alcohol level. well, and K will come home soon...but he'll get on his computer and I'll fall asleep.

I seriously have no friends anymore.

(ignore my depressing rant, it's likely to be all alcohol induced, anyways)

I've been in such a funk today. neither of us are working this week. it's a very, very strange point in our lives. my student comes back next week, and my share of the money will return soon. but K is still waiting. we've been waiting for months. something will come soon - but this in-between time isn't fun.

the thing that's weird, and annoying, about being a girl, is that it's hard to tell which emotion is wreaking havoc on my mind - it feels like they all are. K caught me crying earlier, and I couldn't tell him why I was. I couldn't tell him because I wasn't crying for one thing...but for everything.

we work out of the house at the moment...which means that we are always at work. work and play don't seperate. and though we have spent an insane amount of time together recently, none of that time has been spent enjoying ourselves.

I miss laughing, being happy, being giddy. I don't explicitately state what I want, and he doesn't understand me. I get frustrated. he gets frustrated.

he's at a local bar with a friend who invited him out for a drink. I'm at home, drinking by myself.

he's such a great guy, I'm lucky to have him, I shouldn't be complaining. I just miss when it was new. when we went out of our way to do things for each other, when we both had jobs...that were someplace different than at home...and when home could be focused on the other person.

he's worked on this movie for the past 3 years. it'll be his first on-screen credit. I'm so proud of him for it and know that he's proud of it too.

premieres are not important things, in the long run. but he looked forwared to this one - it was going to be the first one where he had something to do with it. it would be a celebration, along with others, of the realization that his dream had come true, that he was making it out in this crazy world of hollywood. I was promised to be his date years ago - back before we ever started dating...in many ways, this has been a more anticipated event than even our own wedding.

and I don't think, now that it is only a week away, that we are going to get to go. hollywood is harsh, and things run strange and ex-bosses forget those who made things happen for him.

we've exhauted many a connection - and we know so many connected to it - and nothing has pulled through so far. we still have a week, one of our many contacts could succeed in getting us an invite, but each hour that passes is more opportunity slipping through the door.

I'm heartbroken, but I'm even more heartbroken for him. I try to be optimistic, believing that something will work out and that we will go (I can't allow myself to belive otherwise), but I worry about what will happen if we don't.

it's so discouraging. he's already so discouraged. and trying to hide it. but I know it's there. and I don't know what to do to help. I'm crushed as well.

I think I'm going to make another (my 4th) drink and make it strong. then I'm going to fall asleep on the couch and when K gets home, he'll pick me up, put me in bed, kiss my forehead, and get on the computer and play online poker (the free kind) until 2 or 3 am until he's tired enough to fall asleep. then we'll wake up tomorrow and life will have re-started and be better.

I'm looking forward to tomorrow.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.