Monday, Jan. 04, 2010 3:59 p.m.

google will make me a doctor yet!

oh my gosh, I could so be a doctor.

This entry is very TMI and full of medical jargon. If you're not interested in learning about the random workings of my body and don't want to read this entry, I totally understand. :)

I was just reading a message board (of a group of women who started trying to conceive around the same time; haha, yes, everyone in the group is now pregnant other than me :) ) and one girl was just diagnosed with gestational diabetes. So me, being the super informed person I am, decided to google ways to prevent gestational diabetes in case, you know, I ever get pregnant.

One site suggested that people might even want to get a glucose test done before trying, and this reminded me of a blood test I did 3 years ago. I dug out the results and sure enough, a glucose test. Normal. Then I noticed triglycerides and platelets were at the higher end of normal, so I searched them. A high platelet count can cause blood clots. I've always thought my little panicky-attack things felt a little blood clot-ish, which is why I self-diagnosed myself and started taking baby aspirin every morning with my prenatal.

With my pile of medical records was a CD of images from when I had my hysterosalpingogram (HSG) test. At the time, I only had a Mac and couldn't view the images, but I now have a PC and decided to view them. I won't go into detail about what an HSG is or does, but basically, dye is in me and there is an x-ray done. For those of you lucky enough never to have to need one of these, well, you're lucky. It's weird. Anyways, so the lady I may be doing this next split egg donation/IVF with asked if I've been tested for fibroids or polyps. Hmm, I thought, I wonder if I can tell from my HSG images...so I googled that too.

I analyzed my images and the images found on a trustworthy medical site. I think I'm good. No fibroids or polyps, in case anyone was interested. :)

Now this is just what I've learned today. I've learned plently more. I know all about medical coding now too, and how to find diagnosis codes and CPT codes. I can tell you both of them for my hysterosalpingogram: 74740/58340 and 628.2. Cool, huh?

I know all about FSH and LH and estradiol and what they should be on what day of your monthly cycle. Both natural cycles and those being stimulated by fertility meds. I know when they are too high, or how many follicles you might be developing based on them, or how many eggs you might expect at retrieval. I know what FSH/LH ratio is an indicator for PCOS. I know that a string-of-pearls look to an antral follicle scan is also an indicator. I know what an antral follicle is, and what they look like.

I know all the parameters of a semen analysis are and why many think that a slightly higher Ph may increase the chances of concieving a boy. I know that there are two ways to measure morphology and that concentration doesn't mean as much as total motile.

I actually know quite a bit about pregnancy too. I know what the beta numbers (from blood pregnancy tests) mean, how high they should be, how quickly they should double, what is considered a viable pregnancy, and what is the lowest level different brands of pregnancy tests pick up. I also know that you can use an opk (ovulation predictor kit) as a pregnancy test substitute if you like.

Pretty much, I know a lot. But I don't know what to do with all this knowledge, so please, if anyone has a random question, ask. I'd like to feel that all of this is going to some use... :)

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.