Monday, Mar. 15, 2004 10:25 p.m.

this crazy trip

you know how sometimes you can sit there and feel like you need to write but you just sit there and stare at the keyboard because it�s like there�s too much that you need to say to make sense, but that overall it isn�t important anyways, so all those thoughts and stuff just kinda get stuck and clog up the flow of all your thoughts? well, even if you have no clue what i�m talking about, i think it�s a little like writers block or something. and it�s making me hesitate writing something.

i don�t like writing a �today i did this and that� type of journal (though recently this is what it has become), however, because my life is currently revolving around the on-the-road production of a network reality show, and because the entirety of my days is focused on my job, and because i only interact socially with others on crew, i feel like i have nothing else to write.

things have gotten better. they really have, i don�t think i�m going to be fired anymore. i don�t think i suck as much and i�m finally starting to figure out what�s going on. plus, the actual shooting has started, and i can�t tell you how cool it is to actually be there behind the camera crews, watching them run around shooting the cast who are acting as if they aren�t there. i feel part of the privileged few to really know what goes on behind reality tv.

i feel as though i want to pick apart all this stuff and accurately describe everything so that i can really remember this crazy production trip. but there has been so much to think about and then no time to think about it. i�ve been working at AT LEAST 12 hr. days the past 9 days. i don�t really have off time, and even if i did, i wouldn�t know what to do with myself. i actually got off at a normal time tonight, and to be honest, i feel kinda directionless. and lonely, come to think of it. it�s weird when your entire life becomes your job. like, when even when you�re �off� you�re still not off.

it�s also interesting being with and working with all these fast-paced, l.a. type of people amongst all these slower-paced, southern type of people. it�s hard for me to reconcile the two. i feel as though i�m obligated to do my job and associate myself with the l.a. people, but sometimes i just want to be part of the locals. i want to yell out, �i�m one of y�all! not one of those crazy big city production people!� whenever other members of the crew make fun of some of the people here or even the small town we�re in, i�m always there saying, �well, you have to understand...� and trying to make these people who�ve never experienced small town life really consider the pros of it before speaking. it�s kinda weird being the in-between. i don�t think everyone realizes that i used to live in a double-wide at one point, that i�m from a small town, that i went to an ultra-conservative bible belt school, and that a lot of times i�m more like the local people here than like the others on crew.

oh, but i did find out today that one of the girls in the art dept. here on crew went to ACU back in like �88!! ok, so out of the 35 or so people on crew � i�m with someone else that went to ACU!! it�s really, really ironic. first my ucla extension philosophy teacher, now another member of my crew. and it�s such a small school in the middle of nowhere, and it doesn�t exactly breed los angeles, �secular� philosophy and entertainment types of people, either. we are the rare exceptions. and as much as i�ve often thought that ACU wasn�t the best choice for me, i�m beginning to wonder if maybe it was right for me to go there after all.

i find it really ironic that even when things don�t work out (like me getting into that car wreck in that company van or going to ACU), they a lot of times still end up working out later down the road. even battling depression and hopelessness from losing my faith, even living day-to-day with suicidal thoughts � it all seems now as if they�ve really only made me a stronger person and in a way that i would�ve never, ever, ever, ever believed when i was experiencing them, everything i�ve ever gone through has only seemed to be for my own good.

of course, i�m saying all this in hindsight, and though things seem clearer in hindsight (you know, �hindsight is 20/20�), they are also seen however you want to see them (i should make up a new saying: �hindsight is rose-colored glasses that you remember to be clear�).

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.