Sunday, Apr. 24, 2011 9:59 p.m.

national infertility awareness week

ahh...emotions: I love that you allow me to feel and to experience life with such greater depth. But I don't like how you change so quickly on me some times.

And I refuse to attribute this to this current time in my life, so I won't. I may feel, but I also think. And thinking always (or at least should always) win.

I'm still beyond elated. I hide this joy from most, because it feels like I'm bragging, but it's always secretly there. I am so excited to be able to feel complete. K and I were recently talking about something that had to do with raising kids. K remarked that it's weird to have to think about all this stuff, and I replied that I'd been thinking about all this stuff my whole life. And I really have. Since I was old enough to start babysitting, I've been watching and observing, and learning what happens in different situations, and how to respond and guide and what to do. I've been making judgments on how I want to raise my own children for a really freaking long time...at least 15 years. It may sound silly for me to be saying this and I may kick myself later, but the point is: having a kid is a desire that's been a really long time in the making.

And I just want to cry all the time just thinking about how joyful I am for this. And how thrilled I am to be able to give this to K.

But then I'm a little freaked out as well. Oh, how my life is going to change. I'm scared. I've gotten so settled into my life and how we do things. I'm nervous about the unknown, about finances, about careers, about feeling like a failure if the kid turns out to be a loser who makes poor choices in life. I'm worried that I've already given up my life, that I'll never write a book, that I'll never become anything. Though I admit - the allure of "becoming something" has greatly faded in recent years. Life is short. If I'm happy and settled now, why not be content with that? Who says I'm supposed to be anything in the first place? We live; we die. Maybe the whole point of life is just to survive and be content with what we have.

One of the women from my team at work emailed me tonight and said she's pregnant and due in late Nov. My first thought? "oh, I guess that will cut back on my maternity leave then" as professionally thinking, it doesn't serve our students well for two people of our 4 person team to leave our classes with untrained subs during that time. I was originally planning to being gone through Christmas break. My second thought? "uh, wasn't she JUST telling me that they were thinking about having a 2nd child?" Seriously. I saw her on Pi Day, 3/14, and she commented how they had been thinking about their 2nd, but that it hadn't happened yet and they might have to start figuring out and timing things soon. This means that she probably ended up getting a positive test the very day or the day after I saw her! Ugh, and clearly she wasn't even trying very hard for it either. And she couldn've told me if they had - she KNEW that it took us two years and that we had to go through a bunch to get pregnant in the first place.

Blah, whatever. It's life. But it still annoys me and is another reminder, yet again, that most people have no concept that getting pregnant is not a walk in the park to everyone and is a very difficult and emotional ordeal for some.

Oh, and this this week is National Infertility Awareness Week. Which is something that I've honestly been looking forward to for about a year. I decided that it was going to be the week to somewhat "come out" about our infertility. I've planned stuff to post on facebook and everything.

But then it also stresses me out. I don't know how people will react. I really want to post about it because, well, if I don't, how does the awareness of infertility of get out to others? It has to be through people like me. But what if people say snide comments, or say the world's overpopulated and people should just adopt, or try to throw in some jab about how gay people aren't allowed to have kids (if anyone says something like this to me it will annoy me the most! The whole pain of infertility in the first place is that something is broken that should be working, not lamenting the biologically and psychically impossible! anyways...), or imply that because I'm now pregnant that it shouldn't matter anymore - I don't know how I'll take it. And the reason I'm nervous to post.

But I so desperately want to post, because if there are any other people out there dealing with this, then I'd like for them to know that they can reach out to me and that I understand what it feels like. I wish I had been able to reach out to anyone that I knew in real life.

So...I don't know. I'm probably going to go through with it and say something on facebook, but I'm terrified too.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.