Wednesday, Aug. 09, 2006 6:42 p.m.

it's not some fairytale.

there is this one guy. I met him about a year ago. we worked together at a really crappy, miserable job that even got me to stop writing for a few months. he was the only person there who was kind of my friend, even though never really knew each other "in the outside world".

then I got him to come and escape the crappy job and work at a summer day camp with me. so he did. and we've been working together all summer too.

I still don't really know him, know him. but we're friends. cause we're both dorks. and we have similar upbringings.

if I was single and not married, I totally would have been interested in him.

but I'm married. and I absolutely love and respect my husband. so we're just casual friends.

I've seen this guy go through two girlfriends. he saw me right before I was married, and then the next several months as I adjusted to what that meant.

I found out yesterday that this was his last week of camp. today was my last day this week. so we said goodbye.

it was weird. we've seen each other every workday for a year. we said we'd email, keep in touch, but I was still a little sad. is it right in saying that I will actually miss him?

earlier today, I decided to weed out my myspace friend list and delete some people. while going through my list, I starting clicking on people and checking out what's new in their lives.

I saw a lot of people with wedding pictures. and talking about their spouse. or how they got engaged. or whatever.

and it kind of disgusted me. I felt like I was back in college again. back in the marriage factory. back in that place where a picture of a girl in a poufy white dress epitomized a certain kind of success.

all those smiling, pretty, female faces. all that white. all that pristine beauty of weddings. look at us, we're perfect. look at us, we have a man. look at us, we're happy and settled and perfect.

but then I felt like such a hypocrite. I am married. I have a wedding party picture on myspace. I am wearing white in it. I am smiling. my profile boats of my accomplishments and my hopeful successes.

my sisters wedding is this weekend. this is the sister I talked about in several previous entries (10/18, 10/24, 12/03), never fully being able to explain myself, nor understand the things I was feeling. I heard a lot of people disagree with me, a lot of people thought I was simply being selfish. my relationship with my sister is no longer the same, and I don't know if it ever will be.

but I'm generally numb to the whole thing at this point.

I think my sister wants to be one of those girls in the picture. she wants the white dress and the smiling face: the symbol of perfection, of success...or at least in the eyes of the marriage factory school that she attends, and I attended before her.

I am worried she will become a trophy wife, never aware of her own desires - or that she is even capable of having her own.

I think she wants the attention of a wedding, but has no clue and is not prepared for the realization of what a marriage is.

and this worries me.

but I've come to realize that it does not matter what I think or what worries me. she is herself, and she will do whatever she wants.

and I no longer care. I am not angry, or mad, or disappointed, or sad. I am numb. I do not care.

I am a bridesmaid. I will stand there, in my pretty pink dress, off to the side, in a line that leads to her as the center of attention. I will help set up, and take down. I will do my duty, play my part. I won't tell her I'm so happy for her and her groom - but I will wish her luck on her wedding day.

I hope she loves her wedding. it will be much prettier than mine, and I think that's how it should be. a wedding is important to her. it was not to me.

marriage is on my mind right now. it is not an epitomize of success. it is not a picture. it is not white, nor poufy, nor flawless.

these thoughts have been flowing in my head today...I know they connect somehow...and should have a common moral...only I don't know exactly what it is.

I guess it's just that the reality of being married is not some fairytale.

previous | next

Thursday, Aug. 03, 2017 - hello?
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014 - strange dream
Monday, Oct. 06, 2014 - catholic and friends
Thursday, Sept. 04, 2014 - changing. and I need to go to bed.
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014 - dreams of dying

Chapters of My Life
Motherhood
Sept. 2011 - now Being a mother.
Isolation&Infertility (&pregnancy)
Aug. 2009 - Sept. 2011 Working from home in a job that I love...that comes with a loneliness I hate. A husband who works too much, and continued failure to start a family. Slowly spiraling, forgotten, into social invisibility. Accepting and experiencing the potential of pregnancy.
First-Year Teacher
Aug. 2008 - Aug. 2009. pretty much the hardest job I hope I ever have. and all the while trying not to admit my secret turmoil over longings for/attempts at/failure to produce what's supposedly supposed to come after love and then marriage...
Optimism
Aug. 2007 - Aug. 2008. finally accepting that becoming a normal grown up is not just inevitable, but preferable. better job situations for both of us. working freelance as a studio teacher, and becoming an egg donor.
Fading Dreams...
Dec. 2006 - July 2007. student teaching, being poor, consistent job rejections, trying to save face while feeling hopeless.
To Live a Life Worth Death...
July 2006 - Nov. 2006. thinking about death a lot, accepting life and my eventual end. career and passions - beginning the path of contribution to what I will leave behind...
Identity Crisis/Marriage
Oct. 2005 - Apr. 2006. new job. new career. new last name. new husband. new life. who was I and what was I becoming?
The Official End to Childhood? II
June 2005 - Sept. 2005. preparing for a life that still felt like pretend. was I really a 'grown-up' already? weird.
The Official End to Childhood? I
Feb. 2005 - June 2005. losing my virginity, getting engaged, changing my career, selling our childhood home...slowly losing everything that held me as a child... (Meet Mr. Mom 4/05 - 5/05. working/travelling on production of my 4th & LAST reality show ever.)
Quarter-Life Crisis/Unemployment
Sept. 2004 - Feb 2005. no steady job for 5 months - definitely not a good place to be. oh, and I fell in love - which is a good place to be, but it kind of only adds to the confusion.
Postlude to the Prelude
Apr. 2004 - May 2004. I had no clue what things were being set in motion...but everything has changed from there.
The Simple Life 2
Mar. 2004-Apr. 2004. not the deepest thinking period of my life, but I learned a heck of a lot about production of a reality tv show.
L.A. #2 - The Real World
Aug. 2003-Feb. 2004.the big move. transplanting my life. ironically not only working in the "real world", but also AT the company that makes The Real World.
That Weird, Here Nor There, Summer
May 2003-Aug. 2003. a college graduate, but not yet in the grown-up world. just existing. and waiting. and thinking.
Goodbye College
Jan. 2003-May 2003. it's a weird thing, the last semester of college. lots of thinking about what lies beyond.
The Semester From Hell
Aug. 2002-Dec. 2002. it was kind of like I tried to cram 4 yrs. of growing-up experiences into one semester.
I've Changed?
Apr. 2002-Aug. 2002. after L.A. and stuck right in-between the two most intense "finding-myself" semesters of my life!
L.A. #1 - Interning/Discovering
Jan. 2002 - Apr. 2002. I finally stepped WAY outside my comfort zone and went where I had no freakin idea what I was doing. Living outside your bubble for awhile really makes you see differently.
Beginnings/Depression
Aug. 2001-Jan. 2002. who I was, and sometimes who I still am. how it started and how it was before.